I can't get on board with today's fashion

in #fashion5 years ago

For the past 14 years fashion was a non-issue for me because I lived in a place that was so unbelievable hot, even at night, that it was an exercise in futility to ever try to wear anything other than board shorts and a single / vest / wife-beater. Everyone was always wearing precisely this and sitting near fan in the shade because doing otherwise would result in you being a sweaty mess in about 13 seconds.

Today, I went to one of Chiang Mai's largest shopping emporiums in the hopes of getting a few shirts or just really anything that help out my very t-shirt-heavy wardrobe.

56472516_383705162471288_1728235114095181824_n.jpg

If I wore this and people didn't laugh at me I would think something was wrong with them. I mean, is this really what passes as fashion today?

56751303_279558199644071_273449744418734080_n.jpg

I don't even know what this look is trying to portray... something along the lines of "you better not mess with me because my dad is a lawyer."

I also hate brands. I have watched some documentaries about the insane amount of money that people are spending on SUPREME shirts and hats and what not and I shake my head with disbelief. I liked the look of one shop only to discover that everything in the store is just one big advertisement for the brand.

56440246_2098851240410813_8812162522086899712_n.jpg

I have never even heard of Super Dry. Is this a popular thing? I would never wear this because I always think people that wear stuff that is just announcing how much extra money they spent on a shirt is dumb (these were near $50 and not made of any sort of special material.)

I guess you could say that I just don't get it. Maybe it is because I am older and have a hard time justifying any clothing that is expensive for not particular reason. I spend good money on athletic gear because that stuff is actually made of much better materials to help you not get so hot or it is a breathable material.

If you ever see me wearing anything in the above pictures you will know that I have lost my mind and you can go ahead and have me committed.

56795705_167961340768370_2557453377508212736_n.jpg
if this was free, i still wouldn't wear it

Sort:  

I have never even heard of Super Dry. Is this a popular thing?

I'll tell you what it is. It's god damn disgusting and has defiled my eyes. Whoever created that shit is quite possibly the lowest form of life that exists in our current day and age. I feel insulted to have even seen such a terrible brand, and demand that the people of Asia rise up, band together and go develop a new brand of T shirt's called Big Moist.

On a side note, I don't get todays fashion sense in general. 75 percent of the time I just wear a t shirt and some jeans/shorts and call it a day. Meanwhile I know kids who are spending literally hundreds for a single shirt or pair of pants because it has a stupid fucking logo on it. It boggles my mind, dood.

I think you and I would get along in person... swimmingly.

I try to stick to Old Navy. My wife really buys all my clothes for me. Not because she needs to but I think she would probably be embarrassed if I tried to dress myself. Who knew that you can't wear khaki and gray together? We usually wait for stuff to go on clearance. If we spend more than $10 on a T-shirt she considers it a loss. She is pretty awesome at bargain shopping. I have never owned the fancy styles or brands and I am okay with that.

You are right and every reason to be fussy. I have a wardrobe heavily tilted towards sports wear. I have a few shirts. but I can't wear weird stuff. If you see something you like buy a load of them as it is rare to find anything today. I never bought brands up until two years ago as they fitted so well with no alterations. I only buy trousers and shirts from one store in London now so it gives me an excuse to travel.

times have changed and what was despiced then is now fashion, it also show that you have aged and this fashion is not for you(pun intended) , sometimes i see young people the way they dress and i cringe, i wonder if that is how our parent thought of us when we dressed in our days modern fashion

Ha. It’s like a summer music videos exploded into that store. I’m not fashionable... I find what’s comfortable and shop for that.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yea man I have heard about how much kids are spending on the supreme clothing, close to thousands on a single item, and then selling them on eBay for even more on that same day! I wonder how supreme have done it. But it’s the same with the trainers they wear etc... ah well, times have changed!

I think in earnest age sometimes contributes on the things people would wear or wouldn't and that's obviously same for you in earnest, the thing is that brands is what is actually selling these days rather than quality, these days we now see the like of Gucci and the rest but obviously for a person who likes normalcy and quality, you'd obviously for better.

i have seen torned jeans selling at a high price and i wonder who would buy that and walas i see a kid pay for it and wears it proudly. in my days torn jeans were for poor people

I take my fashion seriously. I have learned that humans are very visual and very judgemental. Our appearance is a part of who we are and the message we are trying to convey. Would you want a doctor performing an operation on you wearing a t shirt and jeans or the a lab coat? How about a lawyer in court?

Me personally, I am not into today's fashion either. I find them distasteful. But I can understand if some young kid wanted to buy them just to fit in and make friends. That is the world that we live in.

Just get me some cheap T-shirt’s and shorts, I’m a good 😅

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65262.74
ETH 2937.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68