Retracing my steps from walking in the shadow of who i'm not to being who I AM

in #fashion6 years ago (edited)

FB_IMG_1518101036745.jpg
The struggle to fit in where I don't and can never belong here on steemit is the most difficult and frustrating step I have taken in the past one month.
I came in with the idea of write anything at all and get rewarded. For about a month I tried to force the lines out of my head but they wouldn't show forth because they don't exist there, I tried to be friends with words but the more I tried the more difficult it is for me to be a fan. And then it became so clear that I would never fit into story telling, fiction writting, poetry or any other form of literature because it goes beyond just writing anything.
I could still fit in if I were a photography freak but I'm not, if I were a crypto lord but I am just an amateur in the world of cryptocurrency.

So??????

Should i just quite and draw my sketch pad and sewing machine closer or I continue to struggle and walk in the shadow of who I'm not
FB_IMG_1518100842126.jpg

It was at this verge I realized I have something so deep inside of me, something i'm so passionate about, and that is Fashion.
That is who I am, that is where I belong, that is what I have inside of me and that is what I can offer...

My story of how it all started

2013 was when my love for fashion started after I got so engrossed with JARA (A tv program) hosted by Helen Paul and Uti Nwanchukwu.africamagic___BMB-NwMAxui___.jpg

Uti and Helen
siruti___BHeidp1g_-G___.jpg
Uti on the runway

Uti's dress sense got me stucked, I always wanted to dress like him but then I couldn't.
I got so stucked that I most time watched him model for Yomi casual (My greatest motivation).
Since I couldn't get new clothes for myself, I learnt to use needle and thread to slim-fit my extra large shirts and trousers. Gradually I became an expert with needle and thread, I would use a pen to mark out where I want the thread to pass through, It was fun and I wanted more knowledge, I wanted to learn tailoring but aunty wouldn't let me, she had a reputation to uphold and I had a passion burning inside of me. Her reputation was far greater, she had it all and all I had was just the passion.
FB_IMG_1518101520230.jpg

the shirt was slim-fitted with a needle and thread

So the passion died as I just had to believe I can't go beyond needle and thread, but you know whatever has the power to tamper with your sleep doesn't go six fit below to die, it goes down to sprout back, bigger and stronger.
FB_IMG_1518101295198.jpg

my first set of clothes

Fast forward to 2014.
I got a mail one faithful day in September 2014 that I have been offered admission into my current school (University of Uyo) to study engineering but school was to resume in February 2015. I had 4months to stay at home doing nothing but eat, sleep, and waste previous time. Mother would go to work, kid bro and cousin would go to school leaving me at home with three of mum's apprentices who would probably sew what mum left for them before leaving for work or would gist tirelessly with themselves. (Least I forget, mum is seamstress and a teacher).

I thought of gaining a knowledge or two about that thing I had always wanted to learn (Tailoring) for three months before I started preparations for school. Mum bought into the idea and I started the training in October 2014 to end in December 2014 but I ended the training before time, I was so passionate that i learnt the basics faster than everyone thought I would.
FB_IMG_1518101316677.jpg

the yellow and red short was my first (2 weeks into learning), the white and yellow was my second (3 weeks), the other clothes were sown after my first month.

Two weeks into the training I made a short out of mum's skirt using one of her sewing machines at home, though with so much imperfections. At one month, most of mum's hidden materials became what I used for practise, it was fun making a whole lot of mistakes knowing i wouldn't have to pay for damage.
FB_IMG_1518101339699.jpg
FB_IMG_1515276956646.jpg
FB_IMG_1518101210840.jpg
At two months I had stopped going to learn because I already had clients who were convinced by mum because they believed in her work and she belived in mine. I didn't want mum to loss the trust she had built in years. So I would use a full day to make a simple outfit that shouldn't take quater of that time, I gradually gained trust and decided to start sketching since most of my clients would ask me to give them my design...
It was all going so smooth till school came calling, I had to travel miles away from home to school so I suspended tailoring for good grades which I got in my first year. In my second year second semester i had to do a compulsory course (SWEP: Students Work Experience Program) during the holiday. I had so much time that period that I got tired of staying at home after school so I went to work for a man (Mr. PeterOgbode) as a contract tailor. After I finished sewing my first trouser for him I realized I knew NOTHING about sewing, cutting or finishing of clothes.
FB_IMG_1518101174937.jpg

The first shirt I made

I felt so embarrassed because I used to think I was a Pro, my clients at home used to love my work, but here I am being graded 15 over a 100%......

It was very difficult learningand working with Mr. Peter because he was too close to perfection, he would complain about my stitches not being straight, he would ask me to loosen not minding how far i had gone.
I remember the night I had to lossen a trouser I had already completed because of a slight mistake that could have been corrected, It was about 9:00 pm and I was very tired, hungry and sleepy but he didn't give two shots.
FB_IMG_1515277069796.jpg
FB_IMG_1518101446997.jpg

Before Meeting Mr. Peter

I felt like giving up tailoring that night but why I stared and where I saw myself few years from then was more promising and comforting than what I went through. That night thought me to be very careful when sewing or using the scissor.
I was very quick to learn from him that i tailored a trouser for him, it meant so much to me because everyone who knew him told me that he had never given his cloth to any tailor not to talk of someone learning and working for him, I was honored
Before SWEP ended I had gained more than i bargained for so I kept on working for him even till now because I owe him all I know today.
PicsArt_10-30-10.35.15.pngPicsArt_10-01-11.10.21.jpg
PicsArt_12-04-07.26.jpg

After meeting Mr. Peter

Where i am Now
I am currently in my 4th year as an engineering student, I decided to start sewing even during sessions so I had to bring my sewing machine to school this semester, I own a tailoring brand known as FrimponG Stitches (just starting up though),
PicsArt_10-21-11.30.21.png
PicsArt_11-02-02.55.41.jpg

I run an Instagram account and a facebook page for it, I design most of my works and I enjoy doing what I do.

What do I have to offer to Steemians?
This is a question I have had tough times answering in the past one month but here it is.

  • What I have to offer is everything about fashion; tips, styles, fashion rules, tailoring, e.t.c.
  • I'll be sharing with you all I know and will get to know about fashion, tailoring and design, fashion trends, news and updates so you don't feel lost admist fashion lovers.
    So feel free to always check my blog to keep you up to date in the world of fashion.

I am Emmanuel Uguma
I am a fashion designer and not a fiction writter
I am a stylist and not a poet
I am a Tailor and not a story teller
I am done walking in the shafow of who i am not
I am Euguma
I am that which i am
I am FrimponG
I am the creative director for FrimponG stitches
....... with a touch of class and style we stitch to fit
#CreativityDrivenByPassion

Passion For Fashion

Kindly leave your comments (+ve & -ve) behind, it will go a long way and Keep in touch to see how helpful your comments are.
unnamed (1).gif

Sort:  

welcome! Looking forward to read more from you :)

Thank you..
I won't fail to keep it coming

We all have what we good in but passion matters a lot. Nice write ups. U can also bring your business advert here on steemit. Write about them and see how far it will go

Thanks bro, that's one of the things I intend blogging about

@euguma, I like that you have embraced who you are. Keep steeming dear.

Thank you

Really bro you have a nice write up i wish you success in this,soar higher

Thank you dear

Nice one brotherly

Thanks man

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 60479.65
ETH 2906.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43