THE #TRYHARD DIARIES: An Introduction to #TRYING to Make It in The Fashion Industry

in #fashion6 years ago

I’ve played with the idea of writing this blog series for quite some time. As someone who has been-trying-attempting- and sort of mildly succeeding at smashing into the fashion industry on a small scale (I am ridiculously humble from years of bosses making me feel like the insignificant happy helper, bitter you might say? Oh, most definitely. But with a smile of course because, that’s how you take your abuse in this industry.), I have constantly been on the lookout for some form of fashion self-help - how-to you could say.

We’ve all heard the success stories from the pioneers in the late 80s, 90s, and even 00s. They all go a little something like, “Against my parent’s approvals I moved from so-so to try to make it in the big city, with just a couple thousand dollars in my pocket,” OR “I’m a trust fund baby dripping in Marc Jacobs with a Fendi Baguette on my arm.” (I think I had like $320 in bank account when I moved from Oregon to New York in September of 2014 and that’s generally the amount of money in my bank account at any given time.)

5200647-1_1.jpg

Low key, after having a brief stint at Fendi I am still dying for the tackiest Fendi Baguette I can find. Hello, Poshmark!

But, I’m honestly not interested in these stories. These stories were great and all and to be a wannabe publicist or a wannabe editor in party girl culture in the 80s-00s where both rent and I’m sure drinks were cheaper – it just seems like it was easier to meet like-minded individuals also scraping their way into the industry and getting press based on their cool party friends and connections.

I had read an article awhile back on British GQ that had a quote from William Rice in it about the ever-changing industry and how much harder public relations has gotten. He said the following about the music industry in the 90s and I feel like this 100% coincides with the fashion industry as well based off of all of the memoirs and “success stories” I’ve read or heard about; public relations back then were, “like shooting fish in a barrel. You'd buy someone a first-class plane ticket, give them a bag of cocaine and they'd give you a feature."
(The super interesting article in question can be found here: http://www.gq-magazine.co.uk/article/purple-pr-music-london-profile )

For some reason after reading that quote I’ve always just been like, well shit… If this is how the Wild West of publicists and influencers worked back then, then I really came into play in the wrong decade.

My resume in the industry isn’t even nearly as extensive as let’s say a girl who probably went to the Fashion Institute of Technology or had a great-great aunt who worked at Vogue but, every internship, contract gig, glimpse at full time employment and fashion show I’ve had the privilege of being a part of has molded me in such a way that I feel like I HAVE to share these experiences with someone else. I’ve shared beds in tiny rooms, been traumatized by a past c-level celebrity boss, under paid and over worked, been told I’d never make it, I’ve lived on $30 a week, barely made rent, and have put myself into more debt than I care to admit. I’ve spent so long trying to find my own voice in this industry, that if I can provide some kind of insight to at least one person or give some kind of a glimpse into what it takes to make it on a very small scale – then I’ll feel like my life had more purpose then let’s say; the time I lead the charge to get a dress on Bella Hadid on the cover of X magazine wearing X brand. Though please keep in mind I still haven’t made it.

These are my #TRYHARD diaries. And I’m dying to hear about yours.

Sort:  

Yeah.. it just seems a decade or two ago were much easier to break in TT. I met a fellow photographer a month ago and he was talking about how he broke in and started working for high level stuff. Basically he was in the right place at the right time when things were more relaxed in the fashion world(and probably little or no influencers??? I think it started to become popular with tavi gevinson. How i really admire her and followed her blog. I digress.) Now i think its harder. It just feels harder.. i dont know why. Ive been at fashion photography for almost 3 years but the level of recognition needed to even offer free coverage for events or cover bands is hard unless you have the right connections.. but probably would have been a lot easier a decade ago TT. Totally relate with everything you said.

@kenseyjean - the right place at the right time is everything and I feel like our generation missed that mark. You're so right about Tavi! There were quite a few other bloggers who emerged at that same time but, I remember really following Tavi. Was always low key jealous that she was so well connected from such a young age. Wasn't she under 13 when she first started? Your photography is amazing though girl and I think there is more to be said about the hustle then being well connected. Our portfolios and resumes speak for themselves at this point!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64332.82
ETH 3146.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17