Wear it differently every day

in #fashion7 years ago


It was not until I started to really look into the  'slow fashion' movement that I realised these principles have been at the foundation of my design process for years.

One of the aspects of slow fashion, I love the most is about slowing down consumption and replacing it with mindful purchases. Without having to sacrifice beauty or style - choose your clothing wisely. Seek longevity and quality over quantity. A smart wardrobe is a compact collection of clothes and accessories that work together to create beautiful outfits - pieces that can be mixed together to give fresh diverse looks for years. 

My infinity scarves are made with 100% reclaimed material. One scarf can be worn differently every day. It can be twisted and layered. Depending on the season it can be worn as a single, double or even a triple loop in the middle of winter. 

I make these infinity scarves on a micro scale of production with only a handful of each design ever made. This is due to the fact that most of the beautiful hand sourced fabrics I find are limited pieces. I am not a factory,  just two hands and a passion for style and sustainability.


Until next time, 

xx Isabella

Sort:  

Not a fashion buff but I like the frugality of using just the one scarf

Infinity scarves are so versatile. Thanks for stopping by @fiveboringgames

I do not follow fashion ... But it is very interesting!

I didn't know I followed slow fashion- but I do! I'd much rather have a quality item than a new wardrobe every month.

Agreed! Why continually buy cheaply made clothes (or other consumer goods) that fail quickly from regular use and wash? Because, "I can always go out and buy another one from Walmart!"

That mentality isn't the most practical or efficient way to approach things, but I think it's majority rule (in my region, anyway). Nice post, Isabella! :->

Last winter I went through 7 pairs of tights (black leggings). Each one lasted only a few weeks before getting a small hole or ladder. This winter I shall try to find myself one great quality pair that can hopefully last the whole winter. It is a shame that our expectation of quality has also gone down with the cheap prices of mass produced.

I had that with leggings, I now only wear black or blue skinny jeans- they last a lot longer.

Very pretty! Love the versatility! I can't stand cheap "Made-in-China" clothing where the seams fall apart like ramen noodles off a fork.

Me either! @kyana. I collect and sell vintage clothes and was thinking the other day that the clothing of this era will never get a future 'vintage' label as it just won't last long enough to get that status. Strange that I can still wear a dress made 40 years ago yet a pair of leggings I buy today might not last me through the winter.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57142.21
ETH 2984.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.25