Gardening: PLANTING A COCONUT

in #farms6 years ago (edited)

Hello steemians, happy Father's day.... welcome to my blog and today i will be taking you round my garden, which i had talked about in my previous post.

As a youth i encourage agriculture and advice everyone to practice homestead and have at least a garden or a small piece of land and engage in any agricultural practices.

I believe in @farms and its vision to feed the world through steem, with one small farm at a time..... on my garden i would be talking about coconut, how to plant and cultivate a coconut.

What is a coconut

Coconut is made up of the palm, the seed and the fruits and they belong to the family of Arecaceae

How To Cultivate A Coconut

The best season for cultivating coconut is hot and wet tropical climates... unlike all fruits, coconut can grow in any soil. Before planting ensure you prepare the land and remove rocks or stones within the farm land.... dig a little hole on the soil and ensure the coconut leaves is above the soil surface. Note that coconut cannot grow without frequent irrigation. Maintaining a coconut tree is very easy, as you are expected to remove the weeds around the fruit....i usually carry out my own maintenance on my mum garden every Saturday, since i am always free from school lectures that day.

Purpose of coconut

Cooking (In nigeria we have a special Africa dish Called coconut rice. It can also serves as a coconut water which helps for suspension for the endosperm of the coconut during its nuclear phase of development. It can also be used for making creams and frying, it's liquid form as would other vegetable oils, also for Coco Milk.

My family also use the coconut tree as shade from sun and for relaxation......
Indeed you would agree with me that coconut has so many uses and function.

Thanks for visiting my blog, i hope you have learned a word or two from this post.... practice homestead today

Happy Tuesday..... love you

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing this post with @farms

Resteem

(to be a part of this community; ensure to always use #farms and #steemchurch for agricultural related post)

SteemChurch Farm (@FARMS)

hahahaha my wife casually elaborated me, father's day a dessert that we call, in my country, rice with coconut (rice, coconut, sugar, condensed milk, cinnamon) very delicious here I give you a little of my brother in Christ.

Wow,this is really great and amazing,coconut planting is really nice,have learnt alot,nice garden you have here.

Coconut is one of commercial plants. Good to have an insight in it @abiye

Excellent that chance where I live there are many coconut bushes everywhere and in moments we go down to make a delicious dessert, Thanks for sharing is my informative and talking about the coconut is great because I like that fruit very much.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62922.70
ETH 2543.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83