Farming tips

in #farming6 years ago

Farming is an occupation which gives maximum satisfaction and also monetary benefits besides the produce.

Imagine the satisfaction of seeing a sapling grow and giving you fruits or crops in return for your hard work and you do not have to answer to anybody else. It is all yours.

IMG_20171021_064449.jpg
(passion fruits)

Tips which I learned along the way

  • plant your green chilly side by side with ginger roots
  • make a mixture of cow urine, asfoetida (palkayam) and bird's eye chilly or Thai chilly (kaanthari mulaku) and blend it well. Put this in a spray bottle and spray it on plants. This is an organic agent which will keep away insects, and other germs which attack health plants
  • planting marigold flower plants along with vegetable plants helps keep away certain bugs which might attack the veggies otherwise
  • slice away two inches of bark on mango trees and it will flower abundantly. It is known as drawing ring, locally
  • planting yard beans while planting banana saplings is good for the soil
  • passion fruits are good for health but a single plant will grow roots all along the land and will also suck all the rich manure which means that other plants will not receive nutrition
  • fruit trees such as guava, papaya, and black plum do not need much looking after and will yield good amount
  • bananas which have not been grown organically taste bland and though it may look plump, is not good

tttttt 001.jpg
(banana stem for preparing curry - it is almost 100% fiber and very good for health)

Personal experience

Besides the usual herbs that we all know or are aware of, there are lots of herbs which cure almost any disease. I once had throat pain and my mil suggested searching for a fruit which looked like a tiny cucumber known as Mukka piriyan. I found it. It was a wild creeper with tiny fruits. I took two and showed it to her and she asked me to eat it raw. I did so and within a few minutes, my throat pain vanished. To my surprise, it tasted like erythromycin which my doc had given me when I used to get tonsils infection in childhood. This fruit has since become my favorite.

I am sure there will many such herbs which has the power to cure diseases. If you know a herb expert, please ask them about the power of herbs.

Please join steemit and start writing on subjects that you are an expert about.

If anyone is interested in leasing or donating steem, please consider supporting @indiaunited

Sort:  

Good informations..I recommend the best use of Earth worms and vermicompost along with this.

This post has received a 0.37 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @sayee.

Thank you very much for the tips @sayee. We have passionfruit in the front yard thats climbing all over a eucalyptus tree atm. Do you think we should remove it?

it is a good fruit actually and helps reduce high blood pressure and is good for diabetics. So, I would not recommend removing it. Actually, my husband tried to because it has spread all over the place but I am sort of stopping him.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64476.22
ETH 3153.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54