Another oops

in #farming5 years ago (edited)

The garden has been doing well, or so I thought. A few days, or more I can't remember, ago I was weedeating the yard and managed to catch my irrigation valve control wire up which I quickly forgot about. Well today as I was in the garden I figured I would give it a little extra water and when I tried the zone on the controller nothing happened. The garden has been languishing with no water for days now....

So upon realizing that I did break things then and the water has not been running for the main garden I set about relocating the controller and rewiring all the valves. I ran through all the zones and fixed all the leaks and made sure emitters worked.

I really need to go back and replace all the valves with same models and makes. Then I can actually do a nice clean install for once for myself.

Just one of the many little tasks that make farming interesting. Even on my little level the daily regimen is consistent and there is never a lack of things to do.

Oh yeah, then as I was moving stuff in the garden I inadvertantly found a hornets nest and subsequently got stung on each hand. They met a timely end at the end of a stream of wasp killer. Now I am nursing a beer waiting for my healthy dose of Benadryl to kick in and lower the histamine response. Seriously fuck wasps!

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Yeah, hornets definitely suck!
I've never tried using an automated watering system. I'm guessing that you would need a pressurized water source for that.

Well.... you can use solar panels, your rain storage, and a small pump to accomplish automation and the Solar panel can be small-ish. I have a well that runs my drip. I only use drip, no overhead, so have to pressurize fully to get correct water per day per plant.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes, I can see how using a 12 volt pump powered by solar panels would work pretty well. I hadn't thought of that.

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Hi, @flemingfarm!

You just got a 0.05% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64176.22
ETH 2624.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78