Farming Today...steemCreated with Sketch.

in #farming7 years ago


.

.

.

.

.

.
The US government pays farmers NOT to farm
Cause theyre so damn good at it that they can flood the market
and the price would plumment.

Farm kids grow up driving those monsters before they go to grade school
I've hauled a BUNCH of that stuff from JohnDeer and other manufactures,
and from ports where it was shipped in/out from/to over seas.

Sort:  

I wouldn't be surprised when these machines start driving themselves.

You Will that autonomous farm machines are already here

oh they already do.
been doing that for forty years.
it's called GPS.

the farmer sits in his living room drinking Ice Tea.
the tractor goes and plows the field all day..
comes home and parks itself in the barn
the farmer fuels it up and does maintaince.
next day.
repeat.

Oh Deer!

What did the plow say to the Tractor?
"Pull me closer John Dear".

Cool videos =)

I live in dairy country, and the winters hereabouts are basically monsoons. Grass doesn't grow, so dairies put up alfalfa to feed herds in winter. When I first moved out here in an old school bus with two kids and a tolerant bride, I bucked some hay.

Of course the nice conveyor systems weren't on the farms that were hiring, so we'd basically use hand trucks to haul 2 or three bales at a time across the haymow and hand stack them 5 high.

Alfalfa bales run between 130 to 160 pounds each. By the time the second tractor trailer load was halfway empty, getting that top bale up there was a mite challenging. Sometime after that I puked, but we weren't done, so kept at it until we were.

Of all the work I've done and the men I've worked with, farmers are second only to loggers in the general hardness of their muscles. Mere carpenters aren't even in the top ten, which is prolly why I'm a carpenter.

Thanks for the memories!

I hauled and stacked hay for a few months for a hay contractor. That's what we did..we went from farm to farm to farm..took the hay out of the fields and put it in the barn.

A month or so later I found that basic training in the Chair Force wasn't much of a challenge..

i love the videos and thank you for posting

US have Advanced machinery
I like it
The red bull is so perfect like a beast

this is very cool. In our country we still use carabao for rice farming hehe.

Wow, those are huge. Where do they cam from? Out of space???

Iowa and Illinois ....many of them. John Deere is green. Case is red...etc. I've hauled most of them.

They seem to have gotten bigger from what I remember. Mind you my memories are 25+ years old from when I was in uni (college). Visiting mates farms. Keep in mind that here in Australia almost nobody stays on campus.

Amazing technology as the times change

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60773.82
ETH 2378.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57