You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Kore Kara Noka これから農家 blog post: Kenshūsei: becoming a farming apprentice in Japan Part 1

in #farming6 years ago

Holy cows! How awesome that they respect farming that much to set you up as an apprentice. Housing, land and money. My gosh I wish they treated us with that level of respect here.

Sort:  

Well, as I think I said, it's a double-edged sword: money helps you get set up but in ties you into a cycle of dependency and turns you into little more than one more cog in the economy machine.

Well, yes I can see that. It also means they understand the need for the small farmer! This can be turned into a power play for the farmer. Here, the small farmer is not only overlooked, they are even banned or fined in some areas for having a garden. Food requires human cultivation, and we NEED food. I enjoy the self sufficient farming, though this year i will be reaping large quantities of greens, enough to sell at a market.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64103.87
ETH 2762.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65