Sample: Organic urban farming

in #farming7 years ago

Upon my year abroad after high school, I decided to say farwell to my beloved Berlin and go wild, reconnect with the earth and learn about the origins of food, how to grow it and how to make a living off it. I will gladly elaborate on this in another post. ;)

Back in Berlin, I decided to apply my knewly aquired know-how and grew my own food.
And this is how it turned out :)

Lettuce starters
IMG_0547.JPG

Zuchini starter — the result and bounty I received from this little guy was insane.
IMG_0544.JPG

Work in progress... In total, we had 15 different pots.... three types of tomatoes, zuchini, eggplant, cucumber, peppers and herbs!
IMG_0543.JPG

IMG_0545.JPG

Harvest
IMG_0562.JPG

And food... this was my lunch...home made dressing including herbs from our garden, organic quinoa (store bought) and salad and cucumbers from the garden. In truth the very simple and clear conclusion is this: growing food is cheap, the bounty is plentiful and abundant and the connection, we as humans have lost with food, can easily be restored.
IMG_0563.JPG

I appeal to everyone to buy a pot, maybe some basil, set it on your kitchen windowsill and simply see what happens. Will you build a relationship? Will you happily garnish your pasta and salad?

Give it a try and let me know what happens. :)

Sort:  

Nice work, I am doing something similar at home. And I love Berlin!

Absolutly love it!. There is nothing better than walking out to your garden and picking fresh fruit vege and herbs

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62401.16
ETH 3012.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55