The Old Days

in #farming8 years ago (edited)

With the title "The Old Days" one would think of the really old days, maybe during the 50s or the time of the War Between the States (Civil War). I simply am posting the old days in which we attempted our first semblance of a farm. It was a frustrating affair as we were underwater on our house 3.5 acres in southern Missouri and could not move to a larger plot of land. The frustrating part was in that we had improved the land and the property significantly yet, after the the housing collapse, we still where below what we paid for it.

Those days were not all bad. It was our first purchased property as a newly wedded couple, it was where all three of our children were born, it was where I tried many ideas I had, explored many interests, and developed new networks.

That property is now sold. We managed to work out a deal for a short sale and found a buyer. Lesson learned. Before we sold, we purchased a second plot of land that was 9.4 acres closer to where I at that time had worked. This property was going to be where we restarted our plans taking the lessons learned from before and attempting to do better.

Enter my crazy mind and its constant scatterbrain and wonderment. I had always had a nagging thought, what would Alaska be like? In 2014, I halted the plans for the new farming location to move to Alaska and attempt a new business that I started with a partner. I liquidated much of what I owned in an attempt to build a sufficient amount of seed money. We moved in June of 2015. Today is August 11th, 2016. I just celebrated my 14th year anniversary yesterday. Monday, the 15th, we leave Alaska to return to Missouri and restart many of our plans, though with greater insight now than before. The business I started in Alaska is still going, my partner carries it on. Alaska was not for our family for many reasons.

Now, we start a new chapter in life. New business ideas are at the forefront and a desire to bond again with those we love and by which are uniquely benefited.

Please be sure to check out our website at MyerstownFamilyFarm.com (currently under construction) and visit our Facebook Page for more updates.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54180.99
ETH 2273.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35