A 14 Year Old Learns What it's Like To Work For And Harvest Your Own Food.

in #farming7 years ago (edited)

20170813_174137.jpg

Today, me and my family went out and drove about an hour to a local farm in Northern California. They had fruits and vegetables growing everywhere and animals all over the place. All of the fruits and veggies they grow are non gmo and are not treated with pesticides, which is why they taste so good! ;)

Here, We went out to the strawberry fields.

This variety of strawberries was non gmo and weren't like your super market strawberries. This variety of strawberries don't get very big, but a very, very sweet. They are way better than any strawberry you can get at the store, and the best part is, their non gmo and aren't treated with pesticides. One of the problems when picking the strawberries were that a lot of them were eaten by bugs since they are not treated with chemicals, but it wasn't a big deal, because there were plenty of untouched ones deep in the field.

20170813_174256_resized (1).jpg

20170813_174136.jpg
20170813_173257.jpg

We also got the chance to go to other plants a pick other things like bell peppers and jalapenos.

20170813_172413.jpg
20170813_172621.jpg
20170813_172354.jpg

It was a huge farm with lots of fruits and veggies, and there were also animals.

20170813_175726.jpg

There were horses, but when I looked at the picture, it was peeing in the shot. I'll save that for another time! ;)

Here is everything we picked!

DSC01634.JPG
DSC01633.JPG
DSC01636.JPG
DSC01635.JPG

Anyways, this trip has taught me a lot about doing things for yourself and harvesting food. Back when we didn't have super markets, we had to harvest our own foods or trade for them, but now we have it so easy. I think it is good to try an activity like this once in a while to remind you how things were in the past. I hope you enjoyed! Cheers!

~ @alex-icey

-I have hope for my life,family, and friends thanks to steemit-1.png

Sort:  

Enjoyed this post! Yes, I agree, it's good to do things like this to remind us how things used to be. I'm in SoCal and love the vegetation and access to fresh produce all year long. Picking your own food is such a great activity to do with our kids. Our family will have to take a day trip of our own soon, to do just what y'all did! Thanks for the inspiration!

Awsome post. Upvoted and now following. Also I am showing this post to my 13 year old daughter just to show her that she is not the only teen gardening. Thanks for sharing

Cool! Thanks for commenting and checking out my post! ;)

Not just the value of your content, but the quality of the strawberries and jalapenos and everything are so good!

I like planting... i really enjoy... especially harvesting with your own plant!

Get the kids involved early! way to go, keep up the good work......

@alex-icey Things like this are not actually "in the past." People, mostly Latino migrants, to this VERY DAY still pick the food that most of us (about 99.9%) will eventually eat. I am glad you brought awareness to this and the GMO issue that companies like Monsanto continue to push on us the consumer, regardless of its effects on the consumer and even nature while the Almighty Dollar flourishes into beautiful bounties for their harvest.

ps... I up voted and re-steemed for you as well. And I just read your bio.....Awesome! Now I follow too!

Very true, and thanks!!

Wow! love to see people harvesting fresh vege and fruit straight from the farm. I like that.

People all over the world still do this or wish they could. Most fruit and vegetables from the grocery store don't have any flavor. Good post. Fun and work. 🐓🐓

True! They can compete with freshly grown stuff, the labels in the store say "freshly grown local fruits and vegetables" when it was grown a while ago and was just frozen and thawed out. Thanks for your response! :)

Hey strawberry season has been over for months, I guess it's southern hemisphere or equator then

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64916.21
ETH 3483.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45