Farmers Markets and allotments in my town

Hi,

inspired by @ericvancewalton and his post about Farmer`s Market Challenge I decided to write a post about my allotment and of course I will add some comment about local farmer market.

Farmer Markets

I will start from farmer markets, because that was a main subject in Eric`s post. So generally in Poland we have many local markets, but actually as I know, most of products are not produced by the sellers. They just normally buy everything in big regional markets and sell locally. So you never knows if you are not buying the same products, which you can buy in big shopping centers. I can even say that some time ago my parents had a big garden with apples and currants, and I know that many local sellers were buying in bulk both products and then resell this in theirs small stands. I am not saying that this something wrong, because I know that my parents had really good apples and currants :), but you never knows what are you buying from others. Of course this is just a generalization, so probably you can find nice and health vegetables and fruits there, but you need to be careful if someone will not try to cheat you by saying that his products are really good.

The best option to buy something from local producers is to buy from people who are selling their products from their small allotments. This is common view when old lady is standing on a sidewalk and she is trying to sell what she grew in her garden. I would say that in this case you can be sure that she has her own products.

Easter and Christmas Fairs

The next option is to go fair which are always on Easter or Christmas holidays. Then you probably will find more products from local producers. There you probably will find something interesting as well. Below I am presenting how the fairs look in my town (Olawa) and in Wroclaw which is placed 25km from Olawa.

*above pictures are not mine, first one was taken from osi-olawa.info, second from www.jarmarkbozonarodzeniowy.com

My allotment

But because of what I mentioned above, I decided to buy and have my own allotment, where I can grow my own vegetables and fruits. Then I always will be 100% sure that everything is fresh and healthy. I have my own raspberries, strawberries, apples, whortleberries, tomatoes, onions, cucumbers, carrots and so on. My garden is as well great place for my daughter, where she can play. I know that allotments are becoming more and more popular in Poland. Now many Poles who live in big blocks of flats, want to have their own garden. You can spend your time there by making barbecue, grow plants, vegetables and fruits, you can as well organize small playground for kids.

Below I am presenting you my own garden:

In next couple of weeks I plan to replace my old shed, which is very close to collapse, with the new wooden one. Of course I will share the pictures with you after the change.

___

If you like my posts please upvote and follow my profile** _@lipszczak**_

Sort:  

Love the garden, good review of the market and good luck with the new shed. Upvoted and Followed. :-)

Thanks for showing your garden and the markets.

The pictures of the fairs are stunning. Your garden looks wonderful and peaceful. Thanks so much for participating in our challenge. Cheers!!

Just to be crystal clear, pictures from fairs were not taken by me. I wrote this below them. But the garden is mine :) thanks and cheers !

Oh yeah, I noticed they were stock photos. It looks like a place my wife and I would like to visit!

I am strongly recommend you to visit Wroclaw in Poland. This the place where I born and grown up. I love it and it is most beautiful town. You can read that we have around 100bridges and also a lot of dwarfs... Yes dwarfs! Just check it in google :)

Sounds interesting! I'll check it out, thanks!

Congratulations @lipszczak! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60678.52
ETH 2339.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48