An introduction to Sokal

in #farm8 years ago

 An introduction to Sokal.  

Sokal is my family name, a name I have held close to me growing up. It was the name of my father’s and his brother’s business, Sokal Farm Equipment and Sokal Farms. I grew up on shared acreage in excess of 2,000 acres of land we farmed in Manitoba, Canada just south east of Oakbank.  

I really had the best of both worlds growing up, living on a farm and experiencing city life at the farm implement business in Winnipeg. Before Sokal Farm Equipment my father and his brothers Nick, Bill, Henry and Alex owned Princess Farm Equipment on Princess street in Winnipeg which they sold and moved to Oak Point Road in around 1966. They sold Oliver and later moved to White then to Ford prior to selling the business in 1976.  

This is where the stories begin as I was conceived in 1958 and have had many wonderful experiences that I am looking forward to sharing on Steemit as I believe there is a wave of change that is moving us far beyond our wildest dreams.  

My goal is to time capsule some of my thoughts, experiences and visions using the Steemit media to encourage, humor and candidly share what I believe are stories worth sharing. During my 56 years of life I have travelled, ran businesses, and raised two amazing daughters solo and kept up with technology as much as humanly possible.  My goal is to write a few times a week and within my writings I will bring in characters that have built me into who I am. Every picture is worth a thousand words and on Steemit every word is worth something.     


Sort:  

awesome. i didn't know this about you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58906.95
ETH 2310.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46