You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Adventures in the Lives of Cattle Farmers: Bottle Feeding a Newborn Calf

in #farm3 years ago

Posts like this turned me in an almost-vegetarian. I was raised eating meat every day, and I'm not happy about it today. But people only get brains when they're like 20 and out of the house, right.

I increasingly got a dislike in eating the dead bodies of animals, even though I still love the taste of meat. The more I read about the anguish animals go through before they are killed - read: murdered by cannibals - the more my conscience started bothering me.

Over the years I gained weight, till I was officially obese according to the BMI scale.

In May this year a doctor told me I'm on the fast track to a heart attack, just like my dad. That kind of shook me.

I dropped meat almost entirely, all processed foods, and started walking once or twice a week. Well, three months later without really big effort I weigh what the BMI says a normal healthy person should weigh, and my health is dramatically better. Quitting meat 99% contributed to a large degree to that.

And what motivated me? Posts like this one. How can one raise an animal, just to have it killed a year or six later? It's beyond immoral, if we want to be brutally honest with ourselves.

The human body does not need meat, we can take a single vitamin pill once a week. Plus, studies show that vegetarians live significantly longer, like 20 years, than meat eaters.

Yes, I want a farm, and I want cattle. I'll probably steal some of their milk, because cow juice is delicious. But never will an animal be killed on my farm.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64308.31
ETH 2810.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65