Miracle Micco, rescue horse

in #farm7 years ago (edited)

In one of my last posts about some of my ponies I mentioned my rescue horse, Micco, this is his story.

About 3 years ago I had a friend at the time who had a mare that just had a baby! So I was over all the time and we were in 4H together and she said "you should get a baby so we could train them and raise them together! Then show them in 4H!" I thought it was a wonderful idea, so I started looking! After a few days I saw an ad, that said "$300 blue eyed colt". So I messaged her and asked if he was still available, he was and so I asked for pictures, because there weren't any attached to the ad. After several days of asking ( I'm very persistent) she sent me one. This is the exact picture she sent me. imageI freaked out completely, I showed my mom and step dad and my mom called our vets and she said "don't do it, that Horse is too far gone and he is going to die." My step dad said "we are not leaving him there to die" so I called her and I told her this was animal abuse and that not only were we coming to get him, we wouldn't be paying $300, and we would be bringing animal control with us. Surprisingly she agreed and when we arrived it wasn't just him there. There were 4 total and two looked like this, Micco and Bear, and we took both of them. Animal control took care of the other two, and offered us a place to keep them for a week while we made sure they tested negative for Coggins. When we first got there we looked them over, the one called bear was a little black paso thay wasn't as skinny as Micco and we found him a sweet home right away! But Micco was even worse in person, she said she hasn't laid eyes on him in days, and when i asked for the picture she went to find him. She said she found him in a fence and didn't know how long he had been there. It must have been longer than days because he was covered in sunburn that was blistering and he must have been eating sand. That's very very bad for horses. But after the tests came back clean they were clear to come home! Here's a few more pictures of our first few days. image
imageGetting his feet done for the first time! It took months to fix his feet and so many supplements and vet visits to fix his tummy from all the sand he ate!! He was pretty much trying to survive on sand. So now he's what I call my million dollar horse, and that's probably what I spent on a broke girls salary over the past 3 Years 😂 but now the happy part. I'm proud to say he has a forever home here where he is now fat and happy and gives me kisses and he comes when he's called, he even has tried to come into the house! I like to remind my vet everytime she comes to vaccinate how good he is and how amazing he is and how happy I am that my amazing step dad didn't listen to her! 😊 #blessed image
image
image
image
image
This last picture is a young girl that was riding him for me, and she is bareback and in a rope halter! He usually rides in a halter, that's how amazing he is! 🐎❤ Thanks for reading ❤

Sort:  

He didn't like me taking photos of him 😂. While Malachi was headbutting me like a cat.

You are an amazing young lady for taking on such a worthy challenge and saving this beautiful horses' life! God bless you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61795.04
ETH 3458.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52