Romeo gives Othello the boot

in #farm7 years ago

It's funny, anyone that knows turkey, will probably understand this. It took me several iterations on Bourbon Red Turkey Toms, to find one that wasn't a complete a hole, Romeo came to maturity last year, he is now almost 3 years old. We had some set backs with him last year, after we processed the other 3 toms that I didn't care for. He felt he could challenge the kids, and I set him like a hen once, and he was totally fine for quite a while. Early this year, I had to set him one more time, and now he is just the absolute gentleman, kind, gracious and he gets the heck outta my way, when I walk in. I kept one of his sons, Othello, as a back up, since I really like the attitude displayed by Romeo. Othello, who is about 5 months old at this point, has started to challenge me a bit, when I walk into gen pop. Romeo, has taken to kindly shoving Othello out of the way, and pushing him back back back, away from me, every time. I find this behavior quite amusing and extremely endearing, Romeo has sired a TON of babies, and is an excellent protector and tom. I will admit I have quite the soft spot for turkey, they are delightful creatures, and can be just the best. I love their noises from when they are little to when they mature. I am so very very happy with my little circle of birds I have set on, and sure hope this year brings lots more turkey poults!! 20171213_101816.jpg

Sort:  

This post has received gratitude of 1.00 % from @jout

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66373.20
ETH 3291.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69