You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Soil Erosion and my attempts to help slow it down.

in #farm7 years ago

You should till the dirt and plant mushrooms, might slow the erosion. But seriously I live in the desert here, and same problem. We throw some wild flower seeds with some natural grass seed, and brush. WIth Hay rolls staked in the ground to slow the water. I will take a pick when I see one.

Sort:  

Thanks for the suggestion, that would work really well if i had a small acreage. . My property is huge, and to get to this spot where the erosion is, its 5 miles from the farmhouse. Not only that, i only visit there every 8 weeks, its 1000 miles from my home in Sydney, and there ain't no garden hoses nearby either. My cattle would eat the hay rolls and the wildflowers, so i would have to fence the area too. Overall not that easy, but i appreciate the great ideas.

Easy fix, sell the cows.

That would be giving up, and i don't do that easy :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65733.39
ETH 3506.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51