You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What are Curation Trails and Delegated Steem Power

in #faq7 years ago

@acidyo thank you for this post. I have been looking for some explanations on the way curation works. However, I have a few questions I'll really like you to explain to me. Firstly, When is the right time to upvote a post? before or after 30 minutes? Secondly, I tried registering on streemian to join a trial, but they demanded my password, is that safe?
Very informative post. Resteemed $ Upped!

Sort:  

Hey you just made a dollar off just a comment! see how amaziing this place is?!!!!

Firstly, When is the right time to upvote a post? before or after 30 minutes?

You can find the answer to this in my last FAQ post here:
https://steemit.com/faq/@acidyo/what-is-voting-power-efficiency-and-curation-reward-penalty

I tried registering on streemian to join a trial, but they demanded my password, is that safe?

If I'm not mistaken they only require your posting key which you can find on wallet-permissions. Which means that if your posting key were to be seized by and attacker you only need to use your owner key or private key to change it. Which also means that the only thing the attacker can do with your posting key is comment/post and vote/flag. :)

No. I actually wanted to unlock my account with my posting key, but they demanded my private key or password. I think they started that newly.

Your posting key is public. So they don't need that one. They're probably requesting the private posting key. You have public/private key sets for several things as you can see in your account. With the private posting key, if ever stolen, one could only post in your name. Which is not too dramatic, as you can change it any time with your owner private key.

I gave them my private posting key, but they rejected it.

Oh, they need that? Well, that is a bit inconvenient then. Haven't tried it yet myself. Just joined yesterday, but I'll get there.

Oh, okay :/
I'm sure curationg trails and sp delegation will soon be available on the steemit site, so you can wait til then instead of handing over your private key.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59273.25
ETH 2758.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28