Stormlight Archive Fan-Art (Kaladin and Shallan)

in #fantasy7 years ago (edited)

16776223_10155120124898054_702218269_o.jpg

For Kal I wanted to focus on 3 things:

  1. Alethi ethnic features as I picture them: a prominent epicanthic fold, broad nose and mouth, lean and bony
  2. brooding pout
  3. sexiness
    I am pretty happy with him on all three fronts

For Shallan I tried a different style with mixed success. While Kal looked cool he didnt look WEIRD or ALIEN enough for my mental Roshar, with its vibrant moving plants and electric light shows of emotions, and unique fictional ethnicities. So I pushed to make Shallan a little more bizzare. I struggled with her eyes to get the more cartoonish style, the expression I wanted, and still maintain the epicanthic fold. But I had lots of fun with her hair and I think pattern looks cool!

Next up Im working on one of The Lopen! and probably Lift after that. Adolin will literally be a K-pop star in shardplate. Saving my man Dalinar for last bc I want to have my Alethi practiced before then.

Sort:  

I was always a fan of the Shallan drawing on the inside cover of Words of Radiance. I do like your drawings as well though, looking forward to the rest of the cast. Wouldn't mind seeing your take on Zahel (small part in words of radiance but if you read any other Sanderson you might recognize him)

When I eventually do Zahel you can bet it will be with his old sword and Ill have some sick ink effects with it ;)
Lopen is up next though, so keep your eyes peeled!

Nice work, thanks for sharing! Your textures and use of the white pastel are really well executed! Looking forward to more :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59139.97
ETH 2676.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44