Cookies and Blood

in #fantasy2 years ago

Cookies and Blood

Genre:Fantasy,Thriller Some descriptions of blood and violence are present.

As I stumbled towards his counter, Philip grinned at me. "Good morning, Frank. How may I assist you?"

Good. It would be lot simpler if Philip had a good attitude. He grinned back at me. Please, just one round of antibiotics.

He gave me a worried look. "You're ill?"

"No," I answered. Katie is. She has the crimson flu.

Philip expanded his eyes. I'll go get your medication right immediately. The bright white light of the drugstore shone on his balding head as he put on his glasses and turned to search among the bottles and packets crowding the shelves behind him. He eventually produced a tiny bottle containing red tablets after a short while. That will be two points of units. Do you pay with a blood bag or directly from a vein?

Please, the vein. I stated, "I used up my last blood bag weeks ago.

He scowled as he gave me an all-over look. Even at my smallest, I'm a small man now, and these were by no means the best circumstances. I'd been working a little too hard, and I probably looked like a walking corpse with my pale skin and heavy bags under my eyes.

Frank, how many units do you still have? He whispered.

I responded, probably a little too hastily, "Nine."

Philip pursed his lips and gave me a brief moment of attention.

He reluctantly nodded and replied, "All fine." He pulled out a payment syringe from behind the desk. Please show me your arm.

My right arm's sleeve was rolled up, and I immediately cursed at myself. I ought to have turned left instead. It was too late, though. Philip halted as he saw the obvious pinpricks on my arms. 'No way. When your arm appears this way, I'm unable to take from you. Without a level exam, of course.

One of the Overlord's greatest innovations was the level test. Their means of preventing their priceless livestock from unintentionally drying up. It was the stuff of my greatest nightmare at the time. I have a lie detector.

As I yanked my arm away, Philip fixed his gaze squarely in my direction. "Frank, if you won't let me take a level test, I can't help you. How many units do you have left.’

After making sure nobody could hear, I leaned down close to murmur into his ear. "All right, just give me the bottle." You informed me that stock disappears frequently.

He shook. Not medicine, but things like candy and beef jerky! I'm going to get fired! No, why not try a different pharmacy? Perhaps they won't request a test.

He was aware that his argument was unconvincing. I gave a headshake. I have already tried other places. I apologise; I didn't intend to put you in this situation, but there isn't much I can do. I need your help, and you are it. You're Katy's only chance. Do it for her and for me, please!

He shook his head and wouldn't even look at me. I apologise, Frank. Just not possible for me. I'm a dead man walking if I take you below the redline and someone finds out. You're aware of the law.

Chapter 1: the limit. Eight pieces. The least amount of blood we can reserve. The Overlords' written regulations established to safeguard their blood supply. their supply of food.

In the end, that is all that matters to them. It is the only explanation for any of us still having breath. Even while it might sound harsh, the world hasn't changed all that much from before. No longer do the Overlords just open up people's veins at random. They soon discovered that maintaining society's natural course was far more beneficial. How do they obtain blood then? the same manner that the wealthy always acquire the money they desire. They quickly and openly executed anyone attempting to purchase even the barest of necessities with anything other than blood. Blood became the sole acceptable form of payment. It performed flawlessly. It didn't take long for the Overlords to have more blood than they could drink in a thousand years since blood always has a way of rising to the top.

But right now, none of it was important to me.

I yelled louder than I cared if anyone heard. "Really, you won't do it?" Jesus Philip, thanks for attending my wedding. You attended Katy's baptism. You won't do this for her, will you? I punched the counter with my fist. Dammit, look at me!

He continued to ignore my gaze. He said, "I'm sorry, Frank, I can't.

"Fine," I replied. "Screw you,"

Philip cried out to me as I spun around to head for the door. ‘Wait.’

I spun around and saw him clutching a tiny whiskey bottle that he had hidden under the counter. I was given it by him.

'At least sip a beverage. Definitely useful for you.

Typical Philip. He wouldn't break the law to save the life of a child, but drinking at work? It was all right. I grabbed the bottle from his grasp nonetheless and marched out the door into the smoggy street. I ripped off the cap, took a sip, walked a little distance, marched back, screamed, and threw the bottle to the ground. It broke glass pieces and whiskey all over the place.

Not all of the glass broke up into dust, but the majority did. A particularly ugly splinter approximately the length of my finger caught my attention. I took it in my palm and flipped it over. It was sharp, very sharp, and had a wonderful weight to it. sharper than a knife. It appeared to be a gift from the cosmos at that precise moment. A sign.

While holding the fragment in my palm, I peered at the pharmacist. I was now free to take anything I wanted. which I required. Philip lacked courage. He would not attempt to obstruct me. I could conceal, even though the police would be chasing me. They would ultimately catch up to us, but not before the medication had a chance to take effect.

I moved in the direction of the door. Without me, Katy will be just fine. She will be cared for. One more action. Human lives are not wasted by the Overlords. Too much is invested in our blood for that. One more action. Although… I stopped. I had heard tales about some of those facilities for orphans. bad narratives Stories of hardship and abuse. I backed up a step. another follows. then another

I sagged to the ground as the first tear started to fall down my face.

How long I sat there is unknown. It might have been a few moments, or perhaps hours. I only know that I lived in my own particular hell during that period, however long it may have been.

I stood up as soon as I realised what had happened. I only had one more choice. I was told by another cashier about a man he knew who owned a warehouse on the outskirts of town. a man who wasn't as concerned about abiding by the Overlord's regulations. It was a danger. The penalties for black market traders were a reflection of the threat the unregistered economy posed to the Overlords' whole system. Death was the result, not just for the offender but also for their close relatives. Katy might not make it if I entered this warehouse. But she would undoubtedly perish if I didn't. I had no other option.

The warehouse was hidden from prying eyes in a maze of alleyways, where I discovered it. It appeared to me to be a haven for small-time criminals, offering protection and numerous escape routes.

I yelled as I approached a garage door that was open. ‘Hello. Is there anyone here?

A ruddy-faced man with a grin emerged from behind a stack of crates.

Can I assist you? he inquired.

I certainly hope so. I came from Benny. You could sell me some things, he said.

The man greeted me and welcomed me inside as his smile grew into a grin that displayed a row of immaculate teeth. So come on in, come on in. Any of Benny's friends are also my friends.

He opened the door wide and gave me an eager look. I walked in after taking a deep breath. The man led me through his maze-like collection of boxes and crates, and I followed until we reached a pair of plush floral recliners and a little wooden coffee table.

He slouched into one chair while indicating the other. "Don't be afraid. Please sit down.

I cautiously sat on the edge of the chair so I could see my host. His smile had remained on his face the entire time. He was also overweight, which is uncommon these days. His company was obviously doing well.

Chapter 2: He said, "My name is Charles, but everyone calls me Charlie." Which is your name?

Frank, I answered.

Who is Frank?

Franklin Wilson.

He drew nearer. Frank Wilson, "Well. Describe yourself to me. What is your occupation?

I am employed by Nilecorp Warehouse.

He scowled. 'Oof, difficult job. I've heard the group of guys doesn't even let bathroom breaks.

"They do not,"

'I bet you need a strong support system to handle that. Do you have children?

I blinked. One daughter. Katy.’

He immediately became happier. A daughter? How fantastic. What age is she?

‘Six.’

What concerning her mother?

My jaw clenched. I've always believed that criminals value privacy and secrecy. A questioning was not what I anticipated. Why so many inquiries? I lost it.

He surrendered by raising his hands. ‘Woah. Simple tiger. Simply said, I like to get to know my future clients. Anyone who enters my door is in a dire situation. Simply put, I'm attempting to determine how desperate you are.

I moaned. ‘Fine. Mother passed away. Happy today?

Charles grimaced. It makes me sad to hear that. Truly. It is difficult to lose someone close to you. Since then, nobody else has there been?

I gave a headshake. ‘No. There are only the two of us.

"Okay, then." He nodded. "I believe I have an idea." What can I do for you right now?

"Kathy needs some antibiotics," I said. She has red fever.

Charlie inhaled heavily. ‘Nasty. However, why did you come here? You could purchase that kind of thing elsewhere for a lot less money than I will.

The drugstores refused to sell to me.

‘Why?’

I didn't see the need to lie. Like everyone else, he would eventually come to understand the reality. I explained, "Because I'm on the redline."

He laughed. ‘Typical. You won't experience that issue here, though. Yours are the one hundred and four units.

Deal, I uttered at once.

Charlie smiled while rubbing his hands together. ‘Wonderful. Tell you what, I'll give you a little extra since I like you.

Moving closer, he removed a little tin from the closest crate. He walked over to me, popped off the lid, and shoved it right under my nose. There were so many chocolate chip cookies inside the tin. He said, "Here." "Get one of these." It'll be useful.

I grimaced. ‘Help? How?’

He smiled. They are baked with iron powder. It will somewhat thicken your blood. Make sure it contains all the goods it should.

I tried one, and I must say, it was delectable.

Right, he replied. I'll go get my payment syringe and the medications.

He quickly disappeared back into the labyrinth of his stock. I took the opportunity to more thoroughly inspect the room while I waited. Charlie appeared to be selling anything. I noticed gun cases, cigarette boxes, alcohol crates, and yes, bottles containing various types of medications.

It took me longer to realise it than I'd like to confess, but I did at some point. Several different sorts of medicines were among the numerous bottles hidden in this particular annex. So what was taking Charlie so long in that case? He couldn't possibly be hunting for his payment syringe right now. I attempted to stand up so I could look for him but my legs wouldn't cooperate. I retried it. Nothing. I scowled as I pushed down on the chair's arms in an effort to raise myself. After succeeding, I collapsed as my legs failed me.

Chapter 3: As I was lying flat on my face, Charlie laughed and emerged from behind one of the crates. His face was still split by a huge smile, but it was more of a leer now.

‘Good. I was starting to fear you wouldn't even attempt to stand up,' he remarked.

I gazed at him with furious eyes. Why have you treated me this way? I prompted.

He laughed once more. Paralysis of the lower body. increases your malleability a little. To be honest though, it might not have been required. You already appear to be half-dead.

The cookie

He nodded. "Smart boy. Yes. It's the cookie.

Why are you acting in this way?

Charlie laughed. ‘Why? Do you really believe that I support myself by selling to jerks like you?

He laughed when he noticed my expressionless face. "Dummy, you were never my client. You were the product from the beginning. My actual customers are from a different social class. strong men with distinctive tastes.

Why in the world are you saying that?

I'm telling you that you're going to be lunch.

My expression was unchanged. I was still confused, so he explained with a theatrical sigh. Not all Overlords agree with the notion of respecting mortal life. Some of them like a meal that is more... organic. He managed to expand his grin. "You're about to make me a tonne of money," I said.

"You're not going to get away with this," Even though I knew that wasn't true, I still said it.

He chuckled. Naturally, I will. Little Katy, who is going to come and save you? In my opinion, no. Mr. Henry will drink you to death, after which I will dispose of your body in a desolate slum, and the authorities will attribute your demise to a violent outlaw. They'll refer to it as a tragedy, say some kind things, and then everyone will completely forget about you.

I raised my head to see Charlie as he drew me back into the chair, my eyes frenzied. Don't do this, please. I must help Katy. All she has is me.

He smiled while giving me a direct eye contact. 'Stop worrying. Without those antibiotics, I'm confident that you and I will soon be reunited.

I roared and attempted to attack him, but he easily deflected my arm. My leg's side was brushed by my hand. In my pocket, I detected something sharp and hard. the shard of glass. It's the universe's gift to me.

I curled my palm around the chilly glass after slipping it into my pocket. All I wanted was for him to get closer.

I said while looking into his eyes. "I miscalculated you,"

You did, he acknowledged.

I believed you to be a worldly man. a self-employed businessperson. You're just a glorified burger flipper, it turns out.

His scarlet cheeks got even more red as his grin turned into a growl.

"You smug little crap," she said.

I recognised my opportunity and seized it as he leaned in to slap me across the face. I struck out with the glass fragment, slicing it in the direction of his throat. It left behind a tiny crimson line. Charlie tried to taunt me or scream indignation at me as he opened his mouth, but all that came out was a strange, gurgling sound. That and a trickling bloodstream.

He collapsed on the ground at my feet a few seconds later, dead. I breathed a sigh of relief, but I hadn't finished. I still had to flee, which was difficult without moving legs. I made an effort to think of a strategy, but the best I could come up with was dragging myself outside on my own.

Unfortunately, I never had the time to do even that.

Oh my, my. What have we got here? said in a dignified voice.

A tall, lean man in a well-tailored suit appeared before me. He spoke and behaved in a gentlemanly Regency manner. He once may have been a gentleman of the Regency. This was no mortal, as evidenced by the scarlet pinpricks in his eyes and his paper-thin, pallid skin. An Overlord, this. Mr. Henry had shown up.

What little blood I still had froze in my veins.

Mr. Henry cocked his head as he observed the situation. I saw you murdered Charles.

He didn't give me a lot of options, I retorted.

Chapter 4: He laughed. "I'm positive he didn't," I said. He was always a hard worker. Even so, it appears I owe you my gratitude.

I grimaced. "Thank you?"

‘Indeed. For my tastes, Charles was becoming a little too self-assured. Sooner or later, I would have had to get rid of him by myself. I do, however, still have a problem to sort out as a result of this circumstance. What ought to I do about you? He did a thoughtful chin rub. Tell me, what's your name, please.
I told the truth out of fear rather than ever considering lying. Frank Wilson, please.

He grinned. Well, Mr. Wilson, I think I've made a choice. I believe it is only appropriate that you assist me in filling the post since you were the one who relieved me of my previous servant, don't you? Would you like a job, please?

Two weeks later

Frank Wilson strolled up to the counter after entering the pharmacy. He was carrying a brown paper bag. Philip greeted his friend with a hesitant smile as he spotted him coming.

Frank, it's fantastic to see you, he said. "You appear better. How is Katy?

Frank returned his smile. She is okay. My friend came to my aid.

Philip arched his brows and whistled softly. "He must be a kind friend," I thought.

"Believe me. He's got the money," Frank laughed as he said. ‘Listen. about earlier. I put you in a challenging circumstance. I apologise.

Shaking his head, Philip. "Don't stress over it. I recognise that you were trying to keep your daughter safe.

However, I worry about it, so I gave you a gift. Frank took the bag open. Do you want a cookie?

                THE END OF THE BOOK

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62548.40
ETH 3435.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51