Book Review Queen of Sorcery by David Eddings, 2nd book of the Belgariad

in #fantasy7 years ago

Queen of Sorcery by David Eddings, book two of the Belgariad

KIMG1795.JPG

This book begins with Garion in the land of Arendia where he meets a new friend named Lelldorin. While visiting Lelldorin Uncle's house, Garion learns about a evil plot to pit two adjoining country's at war with each other. At this point, the party grows bigger with the addition of a Korodullin's (one of the countrys posed for war) knight named Mandorallen.

The party continues to the city of Vo Mimbre, where Garion tells about the plot to kill their king and make it look like the neighboring country was to blame. The party runs into the spy that is trying to pit these countrys aginst one another, and Hettar winds up killing him.

KIMG1796.JPG

Next the party travels to Tolnedra, to talk with Emperor Ran Borune about the Murgos invading parts of his kingdom in an effort to stop them. Nevertheless he refuses to listen. At this point, Garion meets Princess Ce'Nedra the wood druid. On their way out of the country, they are stopped by a Duke who is demanding Princess Ce'Nedra to ensure Kador advancement to the throne.
It is at this time Ashrak slaps Garion Aunt Pol in the face, and Garion wills Ashrak to become incinerated. Shortly after this event, Garion sees slaves and is mad at how they are being treated and uses his powers once again to teleport one of the slaves into the water. However the water is filled with poisonous leeches, and the slave dies.

KIMG1794.JPG

Garion is now poisoned and given to Queen Salmissra as a gift. The book concludes with Polgara and Barak rescuing Garion. I hope you enjoyed this, you can see book 1 review here https://steemit.com/fantasy/@amos811/book-review-pawn-of-prophecy-david-eddings

KIMG1797.JPG

Check out my blog here @amos811

Sort:  

OMG I love these books... they were my first foray into Fantasy - lent to me by my then boyfriend at Uni (Kept the love for fantasy lost the BF though. I had to go buy my own copy and have every one of his books. They will always have a special place. Thanks for the good memories!

They are my favorites, and it gives me something to write about on my long hard days when its hard to post. I am glad you like it, and I hope you look at the rest of the series as I do them.

I certainly will. I love all of his books but The Belgariad were definitely my favourite. I feel a re-read is in order!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62205.55
ETH 2397.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50