Fantastic Discovery

in #fantastic7 years ago

SPATZLE: THAT FANTASTIC DISCOVERY!

It was a lot of time that Giò's mother gave me the equipment to make spatzle (or space), accompanied by an inviting "are very good and easy to do!" ...

But I stunned as I am, I put the fatidico tool along with all the others annotating me in the retrocranio (very small !!) to put in the list of "to do" these gnocchetti from the strangest name ... obviously forgetting completely ...
The other day, almost by chance, I I found the fateful tool and not knowing what to cook, I took the opportunity.

I fully confirm that the spaces are very simple and very good and fast !!
I decided to make the fairly classic version with spinach accompanying them with crispy speck that obviously there is very good being the original spaces of the Tyrol, but I wanted to give an Abruzzese touch by adding saffron to the sauce sauce ^ _ ^

I can not wait to try them in other versions ... you can do with any vegetables: pumpkin and broccoli above all!

PS:
The tool has an unexplainable name: Otherwise called grater for spatzle and is the most common method to produce this type of dumpling. This grater is found in virtually all household shops.

GREEN SPATZLE WITH SAFFRON SAUCE AND CRISPY SPECK

spinach 200 gr (fresh or frozen)
whole eggs 3
flour 00 200 gr
nutmeg 1/2 nut approx

cream cooking salt 200 ml
whole milk 200 ml
saffron 0.15 gr
speck sliced 60/70 gr
salt

necessary equipment: "grater "for spatzle

The doses are for 4 servings

I started boiling frozen spinach in the microwave. I put the spinach cubes in the microwave in a container with a lid suitable for microwave and I did go for about 10 minutes (depends on your microwave!) And anyway until they are well boiled. Microwave cooking and the use of frozen vegetables in this case in my opinion is better as it can not be added to water and this means that all the minerals of the vegetable are not dispersed and that the consistency of the vegetables is optimal for the " batter "of the spatzli. However, those who prefer can cook fresh and steamed spinach.

Once cooked the spinach, I made them slightly cool then I put them in a grinder together with the eggs, grated nutmeg, a pinch of salt. I had it go for a few minutes until it had a homogeneous and thick green sauce. At this point I poured into a boule and I added the sifted flour turning with a spatula. The consistency of the batter obtained must be thick but not too much. In case it seems too liquid, add some flour, in the opposite case add a little water. But normally the consistency if you cook the spinach in the microwave should be right unless your flour absorbs so much ....

I put the batter to rest a few minutes while I put the water on the fire and prepare the sauce.

I took the wok and lit the fire quite lively, once well heated I placed the slices of speck that I browned for good. Once browned I put them on absorbent paper to dry and cool in order to make them crunchy. After about five minutes that have cooled, I cut the slices in many strips with a pair of scissors.
Meanwhile, in a saucepan, I poured the cream, milk, saffron and a pinch of salt and I warmed up in order to have a smooth sauce and I kept aside waiting to use it.

When the water to cook the space started its boil I salted, and I reignited the fire under the wok in which I had toasted the bacon (and I had absolutely clean of loose fat !!) and I poured the cream of saffron.

All I have to do is put the batter in the spatle tool and let it go down into the boiling water. Like all gnocchi, as soon as the spatles come to the surface it means they are cooked. As the spaces were cooked with a skimmer, I drained them and poured them into the wok with the saffron sauce over high heat and stirring well. Let it rest for one minute before serving.

I recommend! the spaces like all the fresh pasta absorb a lot and the cream when it cools tends a lot to "pull" so do not be impressed if the sauce seems too liquid, trust me! will serve to have a soft texture even once served and when the dish has cooled slightly.

I sprinkled pouring the spaces with the sauce and ending with the crispy speck on top. It is good not to mix the speck before the flattening for two reasons: the speck would not be more crispy and would become yellow for saffron.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58251.65
ETH 2369.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37