You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Happy Decanter’s Day: Destroying the Concept of Mothers & Fathers

So much to say!
First of all, that snowflake teacher didn't have to do things for Father's Day because (at least in the US) most schools are out long before Father's Day. Is that fair to Fathers? Maybe, maybe not... maybe most fathers would prefer to be allowed to just do their own thing on the day.... My father always referred to that day as a Hallmark day anyway - and I can't blame him considering the current push to make flowers a thing for Father's Day too now... (Gotta sell more cards, more flowers...)

Secondly, I learned during my almost 15 years of being a single mother that some people actually appreciated what I did as a "father" as well as a mother. Because single parents have to do both. And no, I wasn't upset about people celebrating fathers - or of other women being married to the loves of their lives...

In fact, that takes me on to my next point.
We're in a generation where "being special" is celebrated and truly being special is almost abhorred. I write romance. I look at intimate relationships on a daily basis. I sometimes look at it and wonder - it all feels the same sometimes, but then I realize it's not the same to the people involved. It's amazing and special to the person who finally finds that one person who makes them feel wonderful... It's something we can all have, when we are lucky enough to find that person and make them feel special too... Yes, we're all meant to be special like that.

It's sad when it doesn't work out that way, but it's no reason to turn all of us into victims. I was in an abusive marriage. I'm out now. I learned things... Yes, I wish I'd been able to stay with someone forever, but this is real life, it doesn't always work out... but that doesn't mean any of us need to be bitter. Take your lumps and move on. :-)

I, for one, love to see awesome dads. I know it's not mine - nor my children's, but I can still celebrate them for simply being wonderful That's what Father's Day is meant to be... Right?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57852.72
ETH 2355.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44