You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why We're Angry

in #familyprotection7 years ago

I grew up in a household that provided care to foster children but was never in the foster care system myself. Many of the children that came to our home had come from previous foster families that had abused or neglected them and my parents would take in "at risk" youth that other foster families didn't want to take into their homes. These kids needed to be loved so badly because both their natural families and foster families had treated them so poorly. Some of the stories that they told still haunt me and I couldn't imagine being "in the system." I consider myself fortunate to have known every one of the children/teens that came to our house because I learned so much about life from them and I hope they left our home feeling loved and appreciated.. I still am in touch with many of them today as adults and they do have some of the troubles that you mentioned in your post. I am glad that someone is fighting for the young ones in this situation. Thanks for sharing!
Ivy

Sort:  

Your family is doing a good deed @socent I wish there were much more families like yours out there...
Thanks for sharing your story!

You're very welcome!
Ivy

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61199.00
ETH 2393.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56