Where Were You? A Poem To CPS

in #familyprotection6 years ago (edited)

Where were you when 2nd degree burns I had

Because no one looked after me

A cup of tea on the stove I found

A bubbly shoulder since age 3

image-manipulation-3349068__340.jpg

Where were you when my brother

Was beaten black and blue

We moved a thousand miles away

Because at 5, he left his backpack at school

child-1154951__340.jpg

Where were you when we moved back home

To the same abusive fool

Who promised everyone he changed

But continued to be cruel

face-72194__340.jpg

Where were you when I ran the neighborhood

In the projects, dirty and alone

Yellow teeth, long filthy nails

Knowing way more than I should

child-1439468__340.jpg

Where were you when he held me down

No where to escape

Marks on my wrists, flame in my soul

Young adulthood taking shape

woman-65061__340.jpg

Now you decide to enter in

For no other reason than

My husband sometimes took my pills

God, this was your plan?

blur-1867402__340.jpg

The same woman who subjected me

To the things you read above

Has now called CPS on me

Even though my children are truly loved

Thanks for reading

Love, snowpea ❤

Images from Pixabay

Family Protection.png
thealliance_ladies_3.png

Sort:  

I am so sorry you had to endure this torture. You are a stronger person now. You can protect your children. It is time to cut ties with the toxic relationship from the past. They have no right to your present or future.

sometimes in your poems I find my story

Feels like a true story turned poem. Either way it's a really beautiful poem.

It certainly is a true story. Thanks for reading it!

This post was upvoted and resteemed by @thethreehugs. Thank you for your support of @familyprotection.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59228.82
ETH 2524.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52