How my father's alcohol problem also became my problem ...

in #familyprotection6 years ago (edited)

I'm writing a piece that is very personal to me. Something my naturopathic therapist told me about my situation in the past was: write it off of you. I want to do that now. I will describe fractions of events from my youth. How I experienced it
back in the past and how it changed me.

This was in 1993, when I was 8 years old..

I (little Myranda) am sitting quietly on the couch, because when daddy is home, you'll have to be quiet. You have to walk on your toes and not talk loudly. You can not mess with your drink, you can not run and you can not watch television.
When Dad asks something, you have to answer right away, because if you don't, Dad gets very angry.
And when daddy gets angry, he starts screaming. Very loud. He says very mean things. For example that I am not nice. I do not do my best at school. That my mother did not really want me. And that I should not have been born.

Later that day, my Mum says, when she brings me to bed, that he does not mean it that way. Daddy is a little sick in his head and that's why dad drinks beers. And sometimes he gets angry when he drinks beers. Or sad. And she says I can not tell anyone. It is our secret.

Two weeks later, when I come to school with some bruises on my arm, the teacher asks me how this is coming and I tell her this is a secret. Dad is very angry that night and says that I am worthless. He says I have to go to bed without food and tell the teacher at school tomorrow that I had fallen.
(when I look back, it's really strange my teacher accepted my 'new'answer.

More fractions at a later time. I can not go on at this moment.

Sort:  

Wat een verhaal. Het feit dat je het geheim moest houden is niet eerlijk tegen over een kind. Goed dat je het van je af schrijft. Ik wens je daar bij natuurlijk heel veel sterkte.

dankjewel. :-)

This should not have been your secret to keep.. sad story..

I know that now.. :( I'm not gonna keep this secret any longer.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68154.08
ETH 3274.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66