How unschooling suddenly became mainstream schooling - with lots and lots of homework

Today I had another visit from the home education assessors. This time it was to go through the report they made up after our review assessment. I requested this myself, because they just wanted to leave me with the report alone, but that just doesn't fly without an explanation from their side. But that's just my humble opinion.

i-can-t-keep-calm-there-s-too-much-homework-8.png
source: sd.keepcalm-o-matic.co.uk

The story that led us here can be read here: https://steemit.com/familyprotection/@misslasvegas/the-report-for-the-assessment-they-did-for-my-kids-home-education-i-m-telling-you-these-people-are-nuts

I had back-up again in the form of Pippa, who knows pretty much all the ins and outs there are to know about the laws and regulations regarding homeschooling here in Ireland.
When the two assessors came in, we went through the two reports (one for each child) one by one and page by page.
Now, both reports had about 15 pages, with not much reasonable info. Only what was said during the assessment and their opinions.
I mention 'what was said' during the assessment, but that's not exactly true. They twisted my words, left things out and included things that were never mentioned.
First off, there was a mention that the kids did their main learning on a math website. Funny. Because it is a maths website and as an UNschooler, maths is done here, but it is not something we do for hours in a day.
So for them to even mention it this way, shows me that:

  1. They didn't listen.
  2. They clearly have no understanding of what unschooling actually is.
  3. It makes me look like all I do is plunk the kids behind the computer.
    Of course, there was an objection on my side. I mentioned that I never even said that this website was mainly used for their learning. Only for maths. They replied that they both heard me say this....
    Pippa luckily chimed in and said that she never heard me say this, so the remark was scrapped...
    1-0 for me.

Then there was the matter of written work, or the lack of it.
They stated in their report that they saw little written work by either of the children.
I pointed out (again) the whole structure of UNschooling. Which is child-led, or at least in our case and they do write (a lot) but it's spread out between work they've done about certain projects and the computer. I also pointed out that if they would have paid attention, they would have noticed in their initial visit, that both the kids were happily tapping away on the computer...
They still weren't happy enough. So I told them that I bought workbooks since their visit and started working with the kids on them. Then I told them that my daughter finished one of those books in less than two hours and then asked me how long it would take kids in school to finish these, my reply was: Well, about six months...She shrugged and replied: BOOOOring.
This was laughed off, the books weren't even considered at this point. "I should show them at the next visit" (because if questioned, they just want to get it over with and leave so they can move on to the next victim...).
1-1

We brought up the fact that they failed to mention that the second assessor was in fact the other's manager and that they lied when they said she was 'just a colleague here to observe.'
The air was thick enough to cut with a knife. Especially when I said that I didn't think this was right, since I was supposed to be like an open book but they lied through their teeth...
There were words muttered, almost whispered...I'm not even sure if it was an apology. To me it sounded more like an excuse rather than anything. Aaaaand moving on swiftly...

Then the subject cryptocurrency came up. According to them it didn't show what they learned with that.
Well.....
I let them know that the fact that we had to explain to them what it even was, showed me enough about the capabilities of my children (who explained it to them). This was not enough, they needed WRITTEN proof, something that is hard to provide when it comes to this subject...
BUT, I decided that next time, I will show them their own accounts, so they can watch with jealousy what my kids are doing with their spare time and money...
Still 1-1

To make a long story a bit shorter: What it boils down to is that they need written evidence that my children are learning and that they can write. My daughter's work was shown the last time (obviously doesn't count) and when I asked why they completely ignored me when I told them that my son could write them a story right on the spot their answer was:
We didn't hear it, you didn't say that (Pippa disagreed, because she did hear it) and we wouldn't want to put the child on the spot....
Funny thing about that is that that will be exactly what they will do in the comprehensive assessment.
The kids will be asked to do work, while they're there to 'observe' our natural learning routine...
As if two complete strangers observing them will be anything natural.
1-2 for them.

teacher.jpg
source: memegenerator

But this is not all. The final straw is this:
When I asked them what I can do to prove to them that my children learn and they learn a lot. What would satisfy them?
They told me to keep a diary of all the work we do.
I have that, it was presented to them the first time. OOPS, they forgot...
Anyway, what I can do? OK, here it comes. I now have to write down everything we do, something I was already doing.
But besides that, I also have to write up what the children learned from this, how they did it and the progress they made.
All those things that I know because I'm their mother and I know my kids, I now have to put into words on paper and the kids will get tested about it.
Now, if this doesn't feel like school to them and back to school for me, then I don't know what does.
Unschooling (which is completely legal here) is now turned into homework for all of us.
And what they don't seem to realize with this is one major fact:
The time I need to spend on making this happen takes time away from them, their learning, my work (because I do work, even though I'm at home) and I'm not even mentioning the lack of sleep I'll be creating because I still want to get it all done and not lose out on that time.

They win - For now....

I guess the only thing to do is to bow my head and do as I'm told....MAN I hate this.
But I'll do whatever it takes to get them of our backs and us back to normal. At least we'll know they won't come back into play for another year or so, which gives me plenty of time to plan ahead, for something else....Possibly not here.
Let's just hope they listen and observe better than they've done before.

If you're not already doing this:
Please follow and support @familyprotection

REVOLUTION.jpg

giphy (2).gif

ho'opono.jpg

Sort:  

You've just been given a tremendous gift, @misslasvegas : The opportunity to write an incredibly relevant, best-selling novel chronicling this journey for both you and your children; a guidebook on how you have made it through this process to help other parents interested in taking the same journey.
They want homework, the silly clowns intruding in your home?
Write that bestseller and show your children how
to take the best angle and advantage out of every situation life presents you with!

You're already a compelling writer, your story is fascinating, and it's a David VS Goliath epic tale...

You GOT this!

No words...nothing to add...besides: I LOVE you @scan0017, you're the best!

When I asked them what I can do to prove to them that my children learn and they learn a lot. What would satisfy them?
They told me to keep a diary of all the work we do.
I have that, it was presented to them the first time. OOPS, they forgot...

They forgot because they never wrote it down!, that would be in support of your homeschooling ability, but then they don't care. They just want to pester the lives of parents, making it harder to concentrate on more important family values, making parents look behind their shoulders every time in fear. well done @misslasvegas, you sure shall overcome these busy-bodies

Yes, that's the feeling I get too more and more. I mean they must know that me having to write down everything we do, including what the plans are and so on, also means that it involves more time on my part and time that is taken from other activities. It's like all they and their colleagues do is try to upset people and with that stress them out more. It was a very good thing though that I had someone there who witnessed the first time and who could testify that they left things out and didn't 'hear' others. If I would have been alone, they would have just said that this is how it is, because it would have been two against one...It was funny though, because in the beginning, they immediately asked if my back up was only there to observe, pretty much telling her not to intervene...Of course, this didn't happen and she spoke when she felt she needed to. Just like they surprised me by coming with two instead of one. Something I also mentioned and one assessor then said that I knew upfront that there was going to be another person there. Yes, I knew, but only because I asked him....Thank you for your feedback and kind words, as always it is very much appreciated.

Man, this situation sucks. I am truly sorry you're going through this.
Such people baffle me...they bother innocent people who are doing nothing but good for their kids, yet turn a blind eye to "parents" who abuse their kids...seriously? How can they live with themselves.
Again, I hope they don't disrupt your lives so so much. And I hope that they go away soon and your lives can return back to normal, 'cause it sounds like you have a wonderful life (apart from these ignorant rats).
Remember, you are in the right. Much love :)

Thank you for the feedback and kind words. Yes, our lives are pretty amazing and I count my blessings every day, so this disruption is a nuisance to say the least. The one thing that disturbed me right from the beginning was that they asked of my back-up to remain in the back (and not say anything) but they play all kinds of mind games and think they can get away with anything...The female (the manager) was afraid of my dogs and I had to remove them...people like that always have an opinion ready. It will be these two who will decide if my kids remain on the register or not, which is just great...But, I won't run ahead of things, I'll just write down everything we do, so I can present them with a book full of information the next time...That way I'll put them to work instead...

I really hate govern-cement busy bodies.

A long time ago, I thought it was great to have a building department (and such) to make sure everyone built things well. But, I learned that it was staffed by kids just out of college without any real skills and no experience.

So, why did they even have the power to make me sad?
They were a complete waste of my time.
They were a complete waste of everyone's money.


I guess, for you, it could have been worse. You could have had a very well educated (indoctrinated) teacher type that knew what you were talking about, and just knew that was not the way to teach.

Having idiots to deal with is frustrating, but not deadly.

I am sorry that you were visited by the department of making you sad.

Well said, department of making you sad is the right word for it...They had my qualifications in their notebook, mentioning the art course I did two years ago at a lower level (because that's just where you start). But nothing about any of my other qualifications. So I mentioned 2 degrees. They wrote it down and said: But not that it matters what kind of degrees you have....Well, it sure as hell does, because I heard others who told me that when they mentioned that they were a vet or lawyer or something like it, that they always seemed more at ease. As if a parent with less qualifications couldn't be an excellent guide to their kids. Also, if it doesn't matter, then why do they have it written down? But yes, they are idiots, and I actually hope that one day, once this is over, they read this and know exactly who I am talking about....

You are really hanging in there @misslasvegas. I can’t imagine what a stress and strain this whole experience has been for you. I’m so glad you haven’t given in and changed the direction of teaching for your children. One of the greatest benefits for home educating is that you do know your children well and how they learn, no one knows their strengths and weaknesses like you do. As you stated, you do work and have a lot of responsibility being at home. It bothers me when people are ignorant and feel just because we stay at home that we don’t work . My mother in law just told me she tips her hat off to me and I deserve the mother of the year reward. She spent a day with me watching me homeschool, cook, clean and care for the kids. She couldn’t believe all I had to do in a day.

I hope these people get out of your hair soon and I hope this new task doesn’t take too much time away from your kids and your daily duties. Maybe you can jot down and paraphrase your activities throughout the day and record them in the evening before going to bed. This way it won’t take away too much daily time. Stay strong and don’t loose courage, you are doing a wonderful job. I know your kids are watching you and they are learning how to handle tough situations through you :)

Thank you for your kind words and encouragement @crosheille. I am taking your advice and already started writing down all they did today and what the learning curve was and where we will take it from here.
It's not like I'm not used to writing, although I'll be happier once my new printer arrives so I can type it and do it a bit faster. Today I had a little breakdown....The kids of course feel exactly when my emotions are all over the place. So they were extra non-cooperative today... I've had moments of self-doubt today, telling myself maybe I'm not doing the best thing for them...But then I read all these lovely comments and my mood changed instantly. I can't even begin to explain what the support I'm getting here means to me. @familyprotection truly brought the best people together here. It's a blessing to be here.

No problem at all, you are absolutely welcome. I am so glad you are taking my advice and I hope it works out for you. It’s okay, your kids just see how human you are. I try my best to be strong all the time around my kids but I have those moments when I cry and they ask me what’s wrong. We’re humans with emotions that build up. Allowing them to see us break down at times shows them how real life is and it’s not always going to be sun shiny days. I agree that @familyprotection has brought together some of the most amazing individuals :)

I know, I try to remain strong at all times, but sometimes it just doesn't happen. My kids are all very empathic when it comes to that. Especially my youngest, who looks less like me than the others (spitting image of his father) but his character is just like mine, maybe even emphasised. His love for animals exceeds mine and animals are naturally attracted to him. Something both me and my father had too. But most of all, he is an empath of the highest kind. He 'knows' things that usually a three year old wouldn't come up with and he is very sensitive to other people's emotions. Especially mine. When I'm upset about something he hugs and kisses me and tells me that everything is going to be OK....❤️️

Awwww that is the sweetest! I’m sure his empathy and compassion helps you get through a lot. It’s amazing how much our kids can make us feel better at times. 😊❤️

I KNOW. They all have the ability to make me laugh at any given time. My eldest son is a true joker, he comes up with the funniest stuff. My youngest is a very old soul in a three year old. The other day my eldest daughter said something to me about his dad (they didn't get along very well...and that's an understatement) and didn't realize he was listening. He said: I don't like it when you talk about my dad like that. That coming from a barely three year old is something else. We both apologized to him and told him he was right to say that. I'd say with his wisdom, he'll outdo us all. That's why he'll hopefully never set foot in a school, he'd probably outdo the teachers in no time too lol.

Lol!! Sounds like you have a house full of different personalities. That is amazing about your three year old, he would definitely outdo his teachers lol!!!

Oh definitely all completely different personalities. And at the same time I recognise things in all of them that one or more of the others have too, or of myself when I was younger. As for the youngest, he looks the least like me, but his personality is like looking in the mirror, but smarter haha. He already knows how to talk to get things done and he definitely knows he can get away with murder just because of his cuteness...

Much power to you for documenting this. You are dealing with this better than most would. They seem to want to catch you out? I hope you are successful with this. Love the thought of them being shown kids cypto-balance, more than they get in a year. lol. Keep on keeping on ;)

Thank you for your kind words. Yes, I intend to shock them with it...It's unfortunately not more than they have in a year, but it doesn't mean it couldn't be that. My kids invested $20 each and turned it into almost $400,- months ago. Changed back to BTC, which more than doubled in that time, so I believe it's more than most kids aged 8 and 9 have to show for putting money in a savings account...And they did that, with only a little help from me, it was mainly them... My son has really taken to coding now too, so I am hoping to show them some of the work he's done by that time too. And the sad thing is: it won't mean much to them as they have no clue what it all means. Maybe the kids can teach them lol.

And they see us as the crazy ones. I may follow your lead and offer the opportunity to my daughter. I just worry we are handing to much control over by allowing digital currency to prevail. In the end they will find a way to control it, if they don't already and then they can implement the real intent behind social responsibility which is to reward or punish us through a credit system. They are already rolling out the 'points for good behaviour' schemes in Canada, Japan and now the UK. You earn points for going to the gym and living in a responsible way. Digital points and digital cash could be a scary combo so not sure how to view digital currencies. Whats your thoughts on it? You and your kids sound really clued up! Top-Mum :)

Well thank you :) The thing with crypto is that there are sooooo many different coins and tokens that it is very hard to keep up with it, even for us, let alone banks or governments.
The most coins and the people who came up with them, are here for that very reason: to break free from the matrix and away from the system that has us all enslaved. Of course, you'll find 'sell-outs' everywhere..But I don't see this happening much in crypto. If I just look at Steem(it) for instance, I don't ever see @ned betray us all or sell out for anything. First of all, he doesn't need to and second: that would go against all he stands for. And he is not the only one, there are thousands of people like that. Also, once there is interference in any of the cryptos, people will eventually find out about it. Once they do, they will easily back another coin that they like and stand behind. This cryptocurrency world is unstoppable. And of course: they will try, and they already are...but they will not succeed. I am 100% sure of that. I'm not religious, but I like the one thing that religious people represent (or should) as well as the endings in fairy tales (which are very similar to bible stories in my opinion): Good will win over evil. We are the start of that...

Thank you that does make sense although I am not as optimistic as you. And yes it is mega confusing! I'm learning bit by bit(mind the pun) I am enjoying the experience and would like to think Steemit could be a great investment...Thank you for your advice. Much love

documenting this. You are dealing with this better than most would. They seem to want to catch you out? I hope you are successful with this. Love the thought of them

Sounds like they're using a lot of hearsay tactics against you. After they were caught lying to your face, anything they say is not trustworthy. And because of that, I'd be recording any future meetings with them. Either just audio, or with video could do a lot to keeping them honest.

That's a great idea. Not only that, but maybe they will get a feel of how uncomfortable it can be for a change to be watched and recorded.

It will for sure make them very uncomfortable. Especially if these are happening in your own home. They will have no reason but to play along. I wouldn't even tell them, actually. I'd just put up a sign that says they are being recorded and make sure it is visible to them and visible to the camera as proof it was visible to them.

Wow thats pretty full on I didn't realize they came down on you that hard in Ireland. . It's obvious that they really don't want to support any type of home education and are trying to make you work for making that choice. Plus putting pressure on your kids to achieve certain standards that they deem right. Hats off to you for dealing with it all.

Thank you for your kind words. Sometimes I don't feel like I'm dealing with it at all, but then again, there are moments when I get into fight mode and KNOW that I'm on the right path. I don't think they have any idea what their intervention can do to people, if they do, then that makes it even worse. The thing is here in Ireland, they treat everyone differently...It all depends on who you get and who you are. If you're a single parent, they automatically seem to thing you aren't coping...It sucks.

I feel for you and your family having these busy bodies intruding into your happy family home.

Its disruptive for your whole family to be put in these awkward situations in your own home.

There must be some law that protects you from these kind of intrusions?

Overall, I think for now, you are doing the right thing by playing ball and not giving them any ammo.

Remember we are always here for you.

Bless.

Unfortunately, they have the law on their side. A very close friend is a barrister and teaches law in university and she advised to lay low, and like you said: not to give them any ammo. They can pretty much turn every emotion into something else entirely. If I would be too passive and just nod, they can see it as if I would be like that with my kids too. But if I get angry with them about something or plain disagree but use a stern voice (which I did yesterday, because they were lying and I told them so...and that I couldn't trust them because of that) they use it against me because they can now say that I would be impatient with the kids too...Either way, you can't win it with them. So the only thing left for me now is to just record everything we do, to the tiniest detail and present them with a good book to go through once they're here. Let's see how they like to get homework....Thanks again for your kind words @markwhittam.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62915.59
ETH 2542.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63