You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Life as a Foster Child - Facts and Stories

This article is truly horrifying. There, but for the grace of God, am I. My biological mother had to give me and my sister up when I was eighteen months old and my sis about six weeks old. We could easily have landed in the system, but God provided us with parents that eagerly adopted us and raised us as their own.

My heart goes out to each and every one of these children. I was involved with a foster home a few years back, until it got closed down. I helped with fund raising, and I visited every week, mostly just to be there as an ear to listen and a shoulder to cry on. The stories were heartbreaking. I tried to keep tabs on the children after the failure of the foster home. Unfortunately, some of them disappeared from the map, some ended up in prison, some are drug addicts today.

But we have two beautiful success stories as well. One of the girls who, frankly, I thought, would never make it in life, is happily married today, with two beautiful children of her own. She sometimes visits me, and she shines with an inner light that is indescribable. God is with her and her family.

The other girl became head girl in the last year of her school career, and she is now a secretary for a big company. She is still single, but she has settled well in the mainstream of the world.

Reading the statistics makes me so very, very sad. It is such a cliche already, but is it too much to long for Utopia?

Sort:  

It's always a blessing to be a part if these youths success stories. I still stay in contact with a lot if my job corp youth and a few of my ex juvy girls. Several are married, have successful careers and families of their own. It's a great feeling knowing that I in some small way helped them trasition to happy adults. We can't change their past but we can teach them how it to get past their tramas and create a better now and future. Thanks so much much for your input and support! And no, it is never too late for Utopia.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61696.14
ETH 3401.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52