You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The care system broke my siblings - here's their story. Part One: My father's children

in #familyprotection7 years ago

I am so very sorry for what happened to you and your siblings. It's horrible that anyone would do that :(
This story deserves attention, in the hope that these abuses will one day stop.

Sort:  

Well, I believe I am the only one who got off lightly. I can't say the same for my brothers and sisters (I say sisters because my other sister had her share of horror to cope with). I couldn't even begin to imagine how it has been for them and it broke my heart to hear their stories. There has always been this thought in my mind: What if...what if my dad wouldn't have picked up that phone...What if he would have trusted his ex mother in law to make sure they were OK, get her involved instead of calling CPS...All these what ifs and we will never know how it could have been because it all happened to them and obviously it didn't (and still doesn't) matter how good or bad the foster families are. They don't get screened like we are.
How could something like this happen in a system that is supposed to care for these children? I cannot and will never understand this. And yes, lets hope these examples will stop, sooner rather than later...

What you say is so true. It's unfathomable that these supposed carers can be so horrendous and you could probably spend a thousand years asking 'why' and would get no answer.
I know the 'what if' scenarios are so appealing and that no one is immune to them, but I don't think they do anyone any good..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63178.17
ETH 2581.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71