You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Guardian Ad Litem Part 2

I had not heard of a Guardian Ad Litem before.
I just did a tiny bit of research and see that they do not exist in my province, but they do in others. So it is probably implemented in some States and not others as well.

What my good friend Anna told me (whose story I shared on Steemit) is that her daughter was assigned a lawyer. When she heard her daughter look up to her own lawyer and say that she wanted to go home to her mother, the lawyer condescendingly told the child, "Don't worry. We are going to do what is best for you."
The child's own lawyer never actually listened to her wishes.

I am now wondering if a parent can pay for and choose the child's own lawyer to increase the likelihood of an unbiased lawyer.

Sort:  

This is a great question you asked if a child can have their own lawyer. I know they can if they have a criminal charge, but I am not so sure when it comes to family court.

In BC, Canada children DO get their own lawyer. Although the small article I read seemed to indicate that not all children get one becaude of lack of funding. In Anna's experience, the assigned lawyer worked WITH the Social Services/CPS system. If the parents can choose their own lawyer, and if the lawyer acting as a Guardian ad Litem really has a lot of pull with the Judge, than maybe @familyprotection funds would be better served in helping parents hire a lawyer for their child, moreso than a lawyer for themselves.
And maybe we could help supplement the costs of good people who are Guardian Ad Litems in Provinces/States that do it that way, so that they can afford to give their time to this cause.

... anyways, you have got my brain juices flowing. Thanks!

that is an awesome idea. I can say that my attorney once he became my G.A.L. things between us changed. I was very lucky to have him on my side, as many children are not so lucky.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69500.15
ETH 3394.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75