My new project - 1st for the year

in #family5 years ago (edited)

The idea for this came from April Wilkerson who posted her version of this toy on her Instagram account. I liked the idea and decided to build one but I decided to find plans online which she didn't have.

The burn marks on the leg are the result of trying to transfer the image to the wood with heat but that didn't work because I used an inkjet to print the image. If you use a laser printer then you can transfer the image although to varying degrees of success.

This method works well and is pretty much guaranteed to work. In many ways it's better going this method because you can see what you're doing easier but it does require more work later on.

I just glued this using standard glue stick. I will then cutout using a scroll saw just off the line then sand it to the line. The above photo is what I'm working out for a template. Once this is complete then I can easily make as many as I want quickly. Once it's all made and sanded then I can use a heat gun to melt the glue and a scraper to remove the paper.

I will be using this project as a step by step guide that will allow you to build your own if you so choose to.



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://woodenwookie.co.nz/index.php/2020/01/04/my-new-project-1st-for-the-year/
Sort:  

I've found a method of transferring images to wood that works well for me. I cover the back of the page I want to transfer with pencil wherever a line will be. Pretty much scribble on the whole page to get a layer of carbon. Then lay the page down on the wood and trace over the image. The carbon on the back will transfer to the wood. I use this for wood burning and scroll saw projects and once transferred you don't have to worry about the page moving.

I like that idea. Do you think this'll work with charcoal? I'm not particularly fussed with mess on the wood because I make templates which I will then route out with trim/pattern router bits.

Yeah, charcoal would probably work better. No need to cover the whole page, just the parts you're going to trace. This would help to reduce any other unwanted transfer.

I'm going to give this a try the next time. Thanks for the tip.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63743.08
ETH 2657.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87