An Unfortunate Event

in #family6 years ago

red-rose-rose-flower-red-rose-family-garden-roses-1433039-pxhere.com.jpg
Source: https://pxhere.com/en/photo/1433039

I won't give the story any religious color, out of respect for the Steemians who may belong to many confessions.

In my introductory post I mentioned an unfortunate event that happened recently in my family. It's about my mum who passed away in her sleep at the age of 88, 10 years after my dad. It happened last week, so I'm still quite shaken if you know what I mean.

The thing is, my feelings are somehow mixed, I mean I don't really know whether to take it as a good thing or a bad thing or a little bit of both...

My mother was born in a Russian family in Ukraine, and she got married to my dad in Romania. As she studied philology, she became a teacher of Russian language.

A few years ago she went blind progressively. At first, she was no longer able to read, and shortly after that neither to see, but shadows. If it had been cataract it was not such a big problem, it is rather easy to operate. But in this case, it was a progressive degeneration of the retina, which has no treatment, they told me. The evolution may be delayed with proper medication, but not stopped.

Being a former teacher with a rich intellectual life, not being able to read anymore was devastating. You can imagine what was her state of spirit. She practically lost her reason to live. I know that for sure as she told me that many times. And one night, her heart simply stopped.

So, part of me is happy because she finally found peace after many years of blindness, and of course, the other part is sad because of the loss, but what to do, that's the natural way of things, everything that has a beginning has also an end.

What's left to do for me is get the best of my life, take care of my family and move on.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.17
JST 0.032
BTC 63701.73
ETH 2723.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56