"Old Man" Helps Church

in #family7 years ago (edited)
I made a similar post the other day in honor of my paternal grandmother, but this one is about my paternal grandfather. He was the only grandfather I knew, as my mother's father passed away several years before I was born. The following article was printed in a local newspaper in 1967 and was found by my brother while cleaning-out our late-parents' house. The article is very tattered, so I carefully typed the text of the article here as a way to preserve it as well as share it.

"OLD MAN" HELPS CHURCH

Old Man J, that's what W.J.J. likes to call himself, has been a member of the local Methodist Church for about 42 years.

During this time he has served as Sunday school superintendent, treasurer, a member of the official board, and "dishonorable janitor," he said.

In his 42 years as a church member the 80-year-old man has helped build an addition to the church, supervised the construction of another addition, and "made something in nearly every room" of the church.

Last Sunday the members of the Methodist Church turned out in force, along with members of his family, to honor Old Man J.

The service was a "This Is Your Life" type program of his near half century of church work. And it was all a complete surprise to him.

The service had been arranged to coincide with the family's annual reunion. Ten of the 12 children were here along with some of the 22 grandchildren and six great-grandchildren. Everybody knew about the service, except Papa, as he was called by his family.

"That was a complete surprise, a complete surprise. I've never been more surprised in my life. They mentioned my name, and I like to fell off my seat," he said.

"I've seen some folks taken down on TV but I never dreamed it would happen to me."

Though he's served in almost every position in the church, Mr. J.'s biggest contribution has come from his first love — woodworking.

"I like shop work better than anything," said Mr. J., a retired railroad worker. And in his shop he has made cabinets, tables, book cases, and a choir robe rack for the church.

But now that the church has been remodeled, "They've put fine touches on it and kicked some of my stuff out."

He plans to keep on building things for the church, something he does without being asked. "When I see what they have to have, then I just build it."

"Now I've got to build a fancy closet out back of the church to put tables in. The ladies have got so fancy they can't have the tables out in the dining hall when there's a wedding or anything."

Though he has been treasurer of the church for 13 years, Mr. J. said he likes his janitorial work the best of all.

"I really get a kick out of keeping the church clean. I've tried hiring people to keep it up, but they just wouldn't keep it up good. I had to fire them."

He gets paid a little something for being the "dishonorable janitor," but Mr. J. does his work as church treasurer for free.

"I can't give as much as some of the well-to-do folks, but I can give my time," he said.

The church isn't the only thing that benefits from Mr. J.'s time and talent as a carpenter. The gray-haired man can be seen walking around town, wearing his blue seersucker pants held up by blue and red suspenders, shirt buttoned up to the neck, and Hush Puppy boots, on his way to measure somebody's house for a new cabinet, some shelves, or a chest.

He's built something for many of the houses in the small town, and is still building despite his 80 years.

When the local folk turned out to honor him last Sunday, he cried.

"I've got a peculiar disposition. I get so happy I can't help but cry. I cried Sunday. I couldn't help but cry I was happy but surprised."

But with all the speeches that were made in his honor, Old Man J. wouldn't make one.

"I just made a short reply. I was scared to make a speech, afraid I might say too much."

Printed in the Valdosta Daily Times, 1967

I am so grateful for finding this article about my beloved Papa.

floralBLUE-1751088_1280.png

TKG-steemitBanner.jpg

LadiesOfSteemit-03.jpg

STEEMIT-BLOGGERS-GIF-2.gif

Sort:  

He sounds like he was a true treasure to the church and the community, it was great that they could surprise him the way they did. Thanks for sharing these types of stories.

This is so touching. Such wonderful feelings evoke your love and respect for the family. It is very important for a person - to be proud of their ancestors, to respect their memory. And your relatives are really outstanding people. Thank you for telling us about them. You have a great example in the face of your family. As it should be.

I saws you had a nice entry you did for that logo contest please feel free to join my current Steemit #contest here https://steemit.com/contest/@isteemithard/design-isteemithard-a-profile-picture-avatar-contest-8-winner-of-7

WOW. my dear friend he is a perfect man!
I think it is. you are lucky to have such a story. Thank you for sharing with us

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)

Hmmmmm, this is beautiful! He's such a good man with good heart. May God rewards him wherever he is now and bless his families. We all shall be remembered and honored for everything we do on earth(good or bad) just as Old man J got his unaware. Jah bless💖💝😘

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63193.07
ETH 2456.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67