You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Focus on Being a Good-Enough Parent and Not a Perfect One

in #family6 years ago

Helicopter parents are mostly busy hovering over their kids and as soon as they feel their kids need their protection or help, they are ready to swoop in and save the day.

Like the ones who argue with the teachers because their child had a bag grade... well if their child was the only one then the child should have studied more

es, we often used to return with bruises and cuts but all of that had its own charm and enjoyment.

I have scars from those days, especially on my hands from falling of my bike xD

I couldn't agree more with you, my parents always tried to protect me from some stuff, thank god i had a older brother, by the time my parents thought he had enough age to adventure on his own i was just a child, but since i was with my older brother i could go with him, some of my most precious memories are from that time, driving around on my bike.

I was only able to go out at night 1 year or 2 later than most teenagers, i had a curfew at 3 am for some months, after that the curfew expanded to 5 am but i always got home at 8 am xD
My father always gave me the best advices, but i guess i'm his son, i'm a stubborn guy that needs to do my own mistakes, so i repeated most of the mistakes he did and that he tried to give me advice on.

I've seen some Helicopter & Lawnmower Parents, most of their kids were socially unfit to deal with high-school, they couldn't fit in, they were awkward, and even when we tried to hang out with them we weren't able to, they were just to weird...
So parents, if you want your kid to be socially fit don't protect them from everything, let them do their own mistakes, do what this post says!

Sort:  

Yea, I've known a few kids that were homeschooled and they were all weird people - socially unfit as you say.

Now maybe that is just because these particular parents were also extremely protective and these kids had no chance to learn on their own.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69672.37
ETH 3356.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74