You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Preparing for the rituals

in #family6 years ago

Hello....I'm not bramin..I'm staunch follower of Parasurama and karna...I read your post ..In that you have mentioned sacred thread..Can you tell me what is the definition of sacred?

Sort:  

Sacred means religious. If you have seen Brahmin boys in India you must have seen then what they call 'janevu'. It is a white coloured thread that they wear across their left shoulder.

Fine..Sacred means religious ..Also it have meaning of holy and deserving respect as it is connected to God ..I'm wearing black thread considering Vishnu god and Shiva dollar hanging in thread...Both connected to God..If you believe all the living organisms in the universe is created by god, then we are connected to God which means all the living organisms are sacred..Then why should wear white thread black thread and dollar etc..Don't you think it is unnecessary...I thought..Even though my mind telling it is unnecessary..I was grown by parent like you practicing rituals, superstitions etc..I'm unable get out of those practices..Of course those things give hope and at some times but it made us to rely on that..My close friend is atheist..He believe in himself not god or threads and dollars..I'm not here to debate or humiliate or hurt sentiment of others..I'm just sharing my thoughts..Can you share your opinion on my reply?

I am a believer in god, but I don't chant hymns etc. I believe God is inside us, we don't have to visit temples to see god. I don't believe that God will bless me with what I desire if I pray to him, it is all destiny. I am following the traditions because it is going on for ages and it is important that it doesn't fade with coming generation. It is much like how we celebrate Diwali or Holi. Brahmopadesham actually means that the young boy is now old enough to leave the home and live a life in the woods to understand the nature and it's working, actually learn by himself, but here we are not doing that. We are just teaching him what our forefathers did. We will still provide him the life that he has been living till now. Good food, clothes and education. What say?

Hmmm..I'm also having this kind of answer only..thanks for sharing your opinion

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98