That Was Awesome!

in #family6 years ago

I took my grand kids sledding last weekend. Last year they finally graduated from the small hill across the street in the park and the one in my backyard to a mid sized hill down the road a ways. This year they did better on that hill then last year so I asked them if they felt ready for the big one. So I took them on over to Johnson Park here where you can get a good block lengths under your belt if you hit the right angle and speed coming down it. Trying to snap pictures with my old phone's camera proved challenging but I got in a really good one of my granddaughter who I thought would end up crying after flying up in the air after hitting a bump and skidding on her back but nope she came out with a "that was totally awesome".

Photo03091545.jpg

The sled stayed stuck to her butt because the wind was atrocious that day blowing uphill. I told them though with the big thaw coming this week it was likely our last opportunity for this adventure. Despite having to chase after their sleds if they weren't holding them tight when they ascended the top of the hill it was all good with them despite the wind.

Photo03091511.jpg

That parking lot is pretty close to two blocks away from the top of the hill so he was relishing in the amount of distance he conquer on that trek down the hill.

Photo03091520.jpg

When my kids were that age we had the New Years Eve boys bash every year in elementary school. They'd invite all their friends over and the next day I'd coordinate with the parents to bring thermoses of hot chocolate and treats and we'd all head to Johnson Park for a sledding party before they took their kids home. The place would be packed full of people, now look...that's how many people were there at any given time, half a dozen or less the whole time we were there. Outside the wind the temperature wasn't bad, in the forties, a whole cry better than some of the New Years Day events we had there. I've found pretty much the same when we went to the mid size hill, just a couple other parents bringing their kids out sledding. We have another mid size hill that was always packed and popular when my kids were young that I quite often drive by and it's empty. I guess that's how far removed we've become from being an active society and one more inclined to hang indoors clenching onto whatever medium we have available to feed our social media frenzies. Barring activities with the grand kids I have to admit I am no less guilty myself.

Photo03091530.jpg

They say though a smile is worth a thousand words and I know my grand kids enjoy their outside activities with grandma despite snow, wind, cold and of course what our next trek will be...threw the puddles, mud left from the snow melt flooding after the water recedes from our favorite park...mom is never thrilled with us when we get back.

Sort:  

That hill doesn't look very impressive.

I think it's my camera on my phone. I have a nine year old pantech phone I've been meaning to get replaced since it developed a black ink spot on the text screen. Which also happens to be the camera screen so I guess you could say it's a shot in the dark...lol, now complain will ya!

Pantech Breakout?
You could get a Samsung S4 for pretty cheap on Ebay. Just gotta get it for the right network.

I went back to check out my blog and if you look close in the third pic down I think it was you'll see that bump she flew off is near the top of the hill, the pic where my grandson's arms are up in the air is about a block, maybe block and a half away from that bump...so you get a pretty good run down that hill.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63635.72
ETH 2597.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.91