Crafty Critters

in #family6 years ago

Last week when my grand kids were over one of them fell down and scraped his knees. He was crying and as I was trying to console him I asked if he felt better. He said I'd feel better if we could do some arts and crafts. I did some quick thinking, grabbed a few paper plates, craved out some petals around the edges, gave them some paint, glue and pom poms and let them create flowers. I usually save arts and crafts as winter projects because we are in the house more, I get them quite a bit so a summer break from coming up with idea's is usually welcome. So tonight I thought how could I combine outside fun with a arts and crafts project. I grabbed the glue gun, gave them some cardboard paper towels rolls and told them the object was to create bugs out of stuff they found in the yard. Three of them were all excited about it, one wanted to create a butterfly, the other a mosquito and one a spider. This is what they came up:

Photo08071945.jpg

My grand daughter colored her tube with pink chalk...which was allowed because the chalk sits in a bucket on the front porch. She found a giant leaf, a walnut, some flowers and we used sticks to hold up the leaves and stones to hold up her butterfly.

Photo08071945_1.jpg

My youngest grandson made the mosquito, he found a long stick the mosquito sat on, with a pine cone for a nose with a pointy stick glued to the front, he used some seed bulbs from a Yucca plant for it's eyes with attached stick legs to it.

![Photo08071950.jpg](

Photo08071944_1.jpg

My grand son who is the most artistic made a spider. He used some potting soil to cover the body, he inserted a rock for it's face, found some dried old pointy flower casings in my flower garden with some stick legs, we had to make him look like he was crawling over a stick to prop up his front end, though he could stand on his own the rock was heavy and made him fall forward.

Photo08071948_1.jpg

Photo08071948.jpg

Sort:  

howdy there sunlit7! haha! ain't it fun to play with the grandkids? hey I think you got some real talent there!

I love watching them run around....I see them do so many things I did as a child, self discovery of the "hard stuff"....lol. Oh those small accomplishments in life!

hahaha! yes Ma'am the joys of watching the Grandkids play and discover things about life that we take for granted!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63843.45
ETH 2624.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76