My Niece And Three Other Teens Fall Three floors In Elevator.

in #family7 years ago (edited)




It's been a nerve wracking weekend for me and My family. There was a horrible accident in which my niece Sapphire Quintana, whose dad I helped raise, was in a terrifying accident. She and three other teens were injured in an elevator which fell three floors, going all the way down to the basement. I spoke to my nephew, and thankfully she is alive and well, although she is the only teen who is still hospitalized with bilateral fractures in her legs.

The teens were in Louisiana via a religiously backed mission to help the community that is still recovering from hurricane Katrina. They were at the home of the family that were hosting them when the accident occurred. The owner of the home, whom my nephew tells me, is a 78 year old elderly man (not disclosed in the news article) was also injured. He suffered multiple injuries to his legs as well. Thankfully all of the accident victims (except my niece) have been released from the hospital. My niece is expected to be released on Monday if all goes well. I know that she will be in recovery a while and under physical therapy. She's a strong young lady, and I'm sure she will recover soon. a Go-Fund me page has been set up. More on their story can be found here.

Thank you to all those who reached out to my family. Like my nephew, my (great-niece) has learned to help others and remain a force for good. I'm proud of her!


Sort:  

I'm glad they are ok.

Thank you very much!

Thank God that those teens are all ok! It could've been much worse. I know it must've been a very scary experience for all of them. Prayers up!

I have a great fundraiser where friends and family can help her without hurting themselves financially. Builds a lifetime residual in case she has long term complications. [email protected]

Thank you for the prayers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64189.84
ETH 2796.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65