A Skip Christmas Ramble

in #family5 years ago


Once again we find ourselves at the time of year where the kiddies are getting excited, waiting for Santa, and parents are getting anxiety attacks waiting for the monthly credit card statements. I've often wondered where that song that states ...and with visions of sugar plums dance through their head... came from. because now, visions of new cellphones, xboxes and any other electronic device is what the little beggars are envisioning!

With any holiday that is the start of any family gathering, Christmas has to be one of the big ones. My wife goes into a baking frenzy every year. The woman can cook and bake, I'll give her that, but she is about as subtle as the Swedish chef from the Muppets when she is baking. The kitchen looks like a bombed area while she is on a baking mission.

So today she is baking homemade bread, and later 3 different types of pies, apple, pumpkin, and a chocolate pie! She makes a great pie, and her bread you have to anchor down, it is so light!

Bread dough covered and on the rise!

This past summer I planted a "small garden" and although the harvest was small, I thought I did alright. I gave a couple friends a sample and asked for them to let me know "how good" the harvest was, and never received any feedback. Since I had a chance to finally relax, and not worry about having to get up early and go anywhere the next day, my wife and I thought a little celebration was in order. So last night, on a whim, my wife and I tried the produce, and DAYUM, was it good. I "highly" recommend it!

Today finds me taking life easy, sitting and enjoying the Christmas lights, my wifes and my grandsons company, and just playing on the "puter". Our granddaughter and her boyfriend are stopping by for a time, so I'm cooking up a small seafood platter for us, shrimp, scallops, and fish,(haddock), and a few glasses of Christmas cheer. Even though it has been a rough year of sorts, one must try to be optimistic, and so I shall.

Just a brief question, has anyone bought their wife some new "drawers" for a gift, not the fancy ones that look like a string, just the normal ones? If so, why do they come in packages of 6? Shouldn't they come in packs of 7, you know, a fresh pair for each day of the week! I bought two packs and just put 7 in with another gift, I'm saving the remaining 5 in case she has an emergency!

Tomorrow we have the whole fam damily here for a festive feast, turkey and all the fixings. It's one of the few times we have the opportunity to gather as one, so I'll be looking forward to that. It's Moms favorite time, not just because we all get together, it gives her a chance to remind all of us how we have been dumbasses over the years...



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://skiponlinenow.com/a-skip-christmas-ramble/
Sort:  

Hi, @skiponline!

You just got a 0.22% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Thank you so much for sharing this amazing post with us!

Have you heard about Partiko? It’s a really convenient mobile app for Steem! With Partiko, you can easily see what’s going on in the Steem community, make posts and comments (no beneficiary cut forever!), and always stayed connected with your followers via push notification!

Partiko also rewards you with Partiko Points (3000 Partiko Point bonus when you first use it!), and Partiko Points can be converted into Steem tokens. You can earn Partiko Points easily by making posts and comments using Partiko.

We also noticed that your Steem Power is low. We will be very happy to delegate 15 Steem Power to you once you have made a post using Partiko! With more Steem Power, you can make more posts and comments, and earn more rewards!

If that all sounds interesting, you can:

Thank you so much for reading this message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63585.64
ETH 3035.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84