Back to reality

in #family6 years ago

Holidays are over...and it is making me blue. They are starting to put away Christmas decors at malls and parks, I have to take pictures of some that made me feel warm inside.

I admit that at my age, I don't enjoy the holidays as I used to because it feels hectic. Christmas lists, scheduling family reunions, attending them, deciding what to cook for Noche Buena and Media Noche and whole lot more. I also get anxious if the gifts I scouted for so many hours made them happy or did I disappoint. Then there's the nosy relative who asks too many questions because it's been months since your last conversation. I also feel obligated to greet everyone at the office, the cashiers, the barista, my former boss, my college friends...everyone! For me, the holiday season is a chaotic time of the year.

However, when it is over I feel sad...everyone is back to their normal lives. We will count months again to have dinner and chit chats with my lovely relatives. After work, I will go straight home and prepare dinner for the kids then sleep...no more stopovers at the malls with my list and feel excited to find the best gift for my nieces and nephews. Dinners will lack the different feeling of accomplishment when I see my family eating heartily with the food I slaved for hours at the kitchen. I will surely miss the late night conversations with my aunties and uncles over coffee and hot choco and the stupid laughter over corny jokes with my cousins while drinking alcohol...they are stress relievers and never fail bring the good vibes in.

I will miss everything about the holiday including the chaos. I stare at my desk top checking my schedule for the coming weeks...indeed I am back to reality.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66598.01
ETH 3236.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.66