A Day at the Zoo

in #family6 years ago

Our local zoo had free admission yesterday. Since our youngest children (7 year old twins) had never been to the zoo before, we decided to give it a go. We invited my MIL and 6 of our nieces and nephews (ages 3-13) to join our adventure.

eIMG_2420.jpg
(capture from Columbus Zoo Underwater Polar Bear Exhibit)

It's February in the Ohio so weather is always surprising. It sprinkled on and off during our trip but the temperature was in the 60s, so it turned out to be a good day for the zoo.

eIMG_2378.jpg
(The start of our adventure)

Because the weather can get really cold here, some of the exhibits were closed for the season but there was still loads to see.

eIMG_2383.jpg
(My wife and our 7yo son)

eIMG_2377.jpg
(Our clique marching toward adventure)

eIMG_2376.jpg
(Our nephews and our son - The maps didn't survive the rain)

There are these really dope statues all over the zoo.

eIMG_2395.jpg

I don't know if they were made specifically for climbing but that's the first things kids do when they see them.

eIMG_2447.jpg
(Our 7yo daughter)

I haven't been to the zoo in a really long time and the last time I went, I didn't have a camera. So I snapped away at all the beautiful creatures.

Here are some of my favorite shots!

eIMG_2409.jpg
(Reindeer in the offseason)

eIMG_2434.jpg
(Cougar - The official kind)

eIMG_2438.jpg
(Bald Eagle)

eIMG_2471.jpg
(Flamingos)

eIMG_2444.jpg
(Trumpeter Swan)

The Red Panda threw us all for a loop by sleeping so soundly in these super high, highly questionable tree branches. They were knocked out!!

eIMG_2460.jpg
(Red Pandas sleeping in trees)

The Polar Bear exhibit was two levels. There was a ground level where you could watch the bears swim at the top of the water or play on rocks, below that level was underwater polar bear viewing area.

eIMG_2419.jpg
(It felt like the polar bear was swimming on top of us, it was amazing)!

My daughter fell in love with the Arctic Fox. I can't blame her. It actually reminds me of a dog my grandma had when I was a kid, his name was Casper.

eIMG_2430.jpg

We ended our adventure in the super serene aquarium. I want one build in my house, it is the most peaceful thing in the world.

eIMG_2487.jpg

I gotta say it was a good day...

Until our next adventure!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64091.48
ETH 3514.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52