You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Focus on Being a Good-Enough Parent and Not a Perfect One

in #family6 years ago

When I was young, I used to have lots of adventures daily with my friends when we used to roam the streets every day. Yes, we often used to return with bruises and cuts but all of that had its own charm and enjoyment.

Yes, yes, yes. This was my childhood growing up in East Tennessee in the 70s and 80s. We had HUGE adventures. At least it always seemed they were HUGE. The neighborhood was a spectacular place to grow up where I was from.
We had a creek, lake, cove and so much woods and forest.

I loved hiking back in the woods with my neighborhood friends. Especially going spelunking in the local caves.

It is this ignorance that had paved way for two extreme types of parenting styles: helicopter parenting and lawnmower parenting. Both the styles are extreme and keep a child from growing, learning and prospering on his own.

You know this raises a great point with me. What do you think about these kids getting Home Schooled their whole elementary and high school years??
Honestly, I just cannot imagine for the life of me how that is good for a child. A child needs to learn to adapt, thrive, and deal with a diverse environment a typical school presents.

Anyway, thanks for this post/rant @getonthetrain. A good one

Sort:  

Any homeschooled adults I have ever met were always quite weird fellows. I don't think that is just a coincidence.

Have you met any?

Not that I can remember right off hand. I am sure I have. But I would think they are probably a little strange and weird.. The whole act of doing it is

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69672.37
ETH 3356.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74