I hate when people say I grew up in a broken home

in #family7 years ago (edited)

I remember the day my mom locked my dad out and he kept begging to come in. She sat on the other side crying telling him no and that she hated him. I kept pulling her and asking her to open the door because I was my daddys little girl and this was his home. After a while he finally just left and I woke up in the morning searching for him and asking when he will be back. My dad ended up living with a friend and my sisters and I lived with my mother. I was 6yrs old when they got divorced. My mom took her heartbreak and turned it into anger. You can only imagine how she took it when my dad ended up getting married and now I had a stepmother. My step mother was sweet and very caring. Ahe only had sons so we were the daughters she could bond with. My mom would get mad when we wouls bring home crafts because we made them with her. She would tell us to leave them at our other home. It took my mom some time to get married herself. To me I didn't grow up in a broken home, I had two homes that had families made of different people. I had four parents who loved me, always looked out for me and would never point me in the wrong direction. Yes for a moment I didnt have my dad at home and spent time with my mom then weekends with my dad but I had both my parents and an extra set of parents to love me. I now have a husband that has always seen my daughter as his own and people would never know because he loves her as if he was her dad. Her dad is also married and has other kids but I dont hate her and if she was to come over I would always greet her. We need to start seeing teaching our kids that juat because we may mot work out doesnt mean they wont have us and just because our exs may marry others we are now just a bigger family sharing much more love.
FB_IMG_1495311361132-1.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65955.30
ETH 3276.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70