My Family Genealogy (part one)

in #family7 years ago

How many of you Steemer's have always wanted to know your family history? I know I have, for a long time because I love history, and I want to know where my bloodline started. A cousin of mine holds the same interest, and he has found lots of information, and documents to back some of it up. There is still a lot of digging to do, and then I want to do the same from my fathers side.
The family name has a rich history that goes as far back as 911 A.D. He may even found some info that leads to a Viking named Rollo.

Here is where I go back in time, and bring it all to the present time. Hang on to your hats, ladies and gents cuz this ride is gonna be mind blowing.

man-1706964__340.png

Viking Rollo, was born around 840 A.D. As he became a man, (and was given a nickname of The Walker, because he was so big that the horses could not carry his weight) he was given land, along with other Vikings, to settle upon. The land is now called Normandy, France.
The Vikings soon renounced Paganism, and then converted to Christianity, before spreading across the lands. In 1066, the Norman's and another Viking Clan, invaded England and brought with them, around 8,000 Norman Settlers.

the-vikings-2637102__340.jpg

It is hard to find records of it, but we believe that the family name was brought with those settlers, to England.
The first records of the surname appear in Chew Magna, Somersetshire, England in 1554, when a young William Minor, bought land for his wife and family. Around 1600's, the Minors began to emigrate to North America.

boat-1296602__340.png

One of the settlers help start/build Stonington, CT. Our direct family line comes from descendant who left England in (1700's), for a new settlement called New France, which today is called Quebec, Canada.
At that time, New France was larger than the 13 colonies of British, North America. In a war in 1759, New France was defeated by the British.

The British Royal Proclamation of 1763 resulted in one of the highest birth rates in Quebec. It was there, that my cousin was able to trace our heritage, all the way back to 1770's to 1780's. The research resulted in finding 347 direct descendants, with historical documents.

The photos I used are pixabay. My printer kinda crapped out, so no way to get them on here how I wanted. But I will try to get some real ones as the story unfolds :-)

Sort:  

What an interesting historical narrative of a rich family history... Tks for sharing @pixiehunter as I will also do the needful

You are welcome. Yeah, I look forward to sharing my family history. I think it's great to find this type of information. Not sure how long it will take for my fathers side, but I believe his family came from Canada.

It's great to know family history!

Nice graphics and pic. I recognize one of those guys in the shiny helmets as my great great great great great great great great great great great great grandfather! :P

Lol, aren't you a funny guy :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60826.65
ETH 2907.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54