Friday night tradition

in #family6 years ago

Have you and your partner or family have some little traditions?

My wife and I have a Friday night tradition called burger night. It involves me making homemade burgers and fries, hand cut from fresh potatoes. It's one of my favorite nights and meals aI must say, I make awesome fries or as we call them, chips.

My wife likes hers quite plain, bun, patty, tomato sauce. I like mine full house, bun, patty, cheese, tomato, caramelised onion, fried egg & bacon. Nice. Just something that I thought of today was how many people have little traditions, little things they do together that they can look forward to at certain points in the week? Growing up my parents had little traditions, family coffee together in their room first thing in the morning (my dad made it and brought it through on a tray), one hour together TV time at night, prayer time together as a family, every meal together at the dining room table with Sunday lunch being very important and we took every family holiday as a family.

I miss those precious times and I miss the little traditions that bonded us, hence I am trying to recreate some in different ways. Life can get very short very quickly, make some loving memories no matter how simple you may think them.

A burger is not just a burger

Improvise Adapt & Overcome

Sort:  

I hate to admit it ( and almost didn't), but we don't have any traditions relating to meals together. I tried to think of one and came up blank. I asked the S.O. and she said we didn't have one and that got into a long conversation wondering why we did not. I certainly did when I was a child and just assumed we had developed one but, alas, no.

I think it's because she is a died-in-the-wool cook who likes the process and spends far more time preparing meals then others I know. She wants to have something different every meal and is horrified at the idea of having the same meal at the same time for whatever reason. She makes superlative meals and the last thing I want is to rock that boat, especially since my culinary skills amount to opening cans and zapping whatever it is in the microwave.

At least I have memories of a tradition from my childhood. When in season, my family had oyster soup on Saturday night and, on the alternating week, we had fried oysters. I was very fond of oysters, and especially of oyster soup, and that made those days very special. It was a luxury food for us and it lasted only three annual seasons, but it left a very fond memory of fall and winter mealtimes with my family; the only ones I do remember.

That sounds awesome man, I wouldn't rock that boat either. Maybe an after dinner tradition then.

Uncomplicated article. I learned a lot of new things. I signed up and voted. I will be glad to mutual subscription))))

We have fish and chip Friday in my household. It's not a family tradition from my youth, one we created ourselves. It's interesting how much I miss it if for some reason we don't do it.

I miss those precious times and I miss the little traditions that bonded us, hence I am trying to recreate some in different ways.

I think this is an important thing you're doing here. It's good to create some events to make some great memories around, no matter how simple. Besides, who doesn't love a burger and chips man!

Exactly buddy, same with fish and chips which is going to be my next thing but will have to make the misses calamari as she won't eat fish, but I love good piece of dorado put in tempura beer batter and cheesy onion rings in the same batter

Cheesy onion rings...

Stop it, you're killin' me man! :)

Your burger sounds lovely. You are making me hungry now Pete!!

Full house when it comes to burgers are the best mate. All or nothing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94