We Might Be Doing Something Right!?!

in #family7 years ago (edited)

going to compost.JPG
On the way to the compost bin

Parents have a big job - raising one or more children to be decent humans who can get along in the world on their own at some point and maybe even it make it a better place than they found it. There are moments of discouragement and disappointment, self-doubt - are we doing anything right with this kid??? But then there are these glorious moments of pride and joy when your heart just might explode out of your chest because of something your kid does. It doesn't have to be big, just thoughtful or considerate or angelic.

I enjoyed one of these moments yesterday. I had just picked up my 5-year-old son from Pre-K and he was happily munching on a snack at the kitchen table talking about the weekend. I was cleaning up the kitchen and told him I was going to take out the compost and I'd be right back. To my great pleasure and pride, he exclaimed "I'll take it!" So, off he went, out onto the deck, down the steps and across the yard. On the way he noticed a plastic bottle that had somehow ended up in the yard, so he picked it up. He folded back the lid of the bin and, oooops!

at compost bin.JPG
Everything in the bin!

The plastic bottle and the bucket went right in the bin! I started down the stairs to help him as he came back towards me, his sweet little face splattered with soggy coffee grounds. No good deed goes unpunished, right? Poor thing. He went to wipe off his face and I dug the bucket and bottle out of the compost bin. Only a few hundred thousand flies and other critters live in there!

My son's good intentions didn't quite turn out like he had hoped, but I smothered him in praise for volunteering to help and told him how proud I am to have such a kind little boy who thinks of others. I think he also likes having big boy responsibilities. I know he probably won't always revel in them quite so much, but I'll enjoy it while it lasts!

These are the moments that make me think, "Hey, maybe we're not totally screwing up this whole child-rearing enterprise after all!" He has helped strangers in shops when they drop something, he sometimes gets a special reward at school for helping his teachers or classmates clean up - He just seems to have a helpful soul. Maybe he was born that way, maybe we have shown him a good example. Either way, his papa and I are happy to take as much of the credit as we can! I'm sure there will be times we don't recognize his behavior, too. That's what it's all about.

What have your kids done that blew you away?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60334.00
ETH 2571.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56