It's ALL about family!!!

in #family6 years ago

Recently I have had a new family member join Steemit, after much, much, encouragement. But if anyone knows me at all, they know I am stubborn, especially when it comes to the best interests of those I love. My sister and her family visited me from New Zealand (yes, I know you regular readers have read this about a million times now!!!) and the way I felt during this visit really hammered home what is important to me.

Pina Coladas made by the multi-talented @yogidream.scapes

Even after an absence of ten years, it was as if no time passed at all. We giggled, and reveled in who was the worst influence on the other. My sister likes to wait until a certain time before having a drink, and I eventually wore here down to having cocktails in the afternoon! She also likes to have a proper breakfast before snacking. I could not influence her, but when her back was turned I had my niece eating cake for breakfast. Dammit, it was a holiday. Her influence on me? Oh it was baaaad! I swore I would never play Candy Crush as I have an addictive personality. I am playing Candy Crush. We had an opportunity to discuss many serious issues, and reminisce about our childhoods, with much hysterical laughter. I am the older sister and I was a brat. The point is, I have never felt happier in a long time.

My lovely sister and my brother (who is my ongoing Steemit recruit project).

Me, the bad influence. The mojito was delicious!!!

It is not only biological family I consider family. My best friend is my family, as are her children. My brother-in-law is my family. I claim him as a brother and he has the loyalty I reserve for family. This is an important point as I have another legal brother-in-law, my husband's brother, and he is not my brother. Just as my niece and nephews on that side of the family are in name only. Though I am still civil, and even kind occasionally (when they don't make me too mad), they do not feel like family.  My sister's only daughter, my niece, is so like my three children, that even though I only remembered her as a baby, the opportunity I have had to begin to get to know her as a young woman of fifteen has literally been like gaining another child.

Moments engraved in my heart!

When I refer to the new Steemit recruit as a family member, he is to me. I liked my daughter's boyfriend instantly (as opposed to a previous relationship) and want the best for him. He is a very talented photographer and has a great sense of humour, and I believe he is perfect for Steemit. I know he will do well here!

@yogidream.scapes and @joshuabaxter, aren't they cute?!

I love my family so I will shamelessly promote them! But more than that, @yogidream.scapes (my daughter) and @petruska13 (my dad) already have established quality blogs worth following. I know the new recruit @joshuabaxter will shortly follow suit. My lovely mom, @jaje also has a very sweet blog, but she doesn't post very often. Mmmm, seems I will have to double down on some encouragement.

My mom and dad. My dad is opening his Christmas present, a castle handmade by my daughter, @yogidream.scapes

@onetree

All the best photographs on this blog were taken by my brother-in-law, who is also a very skilled photography. His specialty are action shots.

Sort:  

Wow, I’m famous, and for swinging. Awesome 😊

And don't you look cute?!

onetree
This is my first visit that I can remember of visiting your blog. I can see from your writings that "family" means a lot to you. And that is as it should be.
I also see from your profile that you are located in South Africa?
Is that correct?
Not that it matters. It just shows the reach of Steemit to bring us all together to share and to learn.
Thank you for your zeal. I appreciate it. Steemit surely needs you and many thousand with you to achieve our goals. To place Steemit where it belongs. In every household around the world.
jmht

Francis

You are right on both counts. And I love meeting like-minded people all over the world.

https://steemit.com/dtube/@exyle/kso74ouz
I thought you might like this and find it useful for your new shop.

Thank you @giantbear I have been keeping an eye on Steembay and would like to auction something there. I just have to find an item with international appeal that is lightweight to post! With the increase in the price of both Steem & SBD, it is more viable to sell there now. Thank you so much for thinking of me, it means a lot to me.

Glad to see so much happiness and nice time.... Be happy always

Thank you, I am trying to be happy more.

spending quality family time together is very important. but the most important to the family is the common interest and the love that bind them together.

You are totally right @sweetnaomi05 :)

Well you have been busy. I will have to take a look at their blogs. Always happy to support others of a similar nature. If your blog is anything to go by then i am sure they will all be great additions to Steemit.

Thank you, from you that is a SUPER compliment!

Aahh😊... That's too sweet😀

Wow! You two on those swings! What a great time! You are so lucky to have a very nice loving family! It’s time for having lots of happiness and joy!

It was my sister and my daughter on the swings, but we all look pretty much alike from far! I am lucky, I know many people don't have that, including my husband. I will see my sister one more time as she passes by my town next week. She has been with her husband's family since she left me, and there is a lot of mending to be done by her husband and his mom. It seems to be going well so far, so I am happy for him.

Yes! I forgot your hair is different!! These photos are smashing!

Thank you @kaminchan!!! And thank you for supporting my daughter's boyfriend. He is a good guy, and like many was not raised in such a way as to have natural confidence.

They look good together! He will grow like a big tree!

I hope so :)

Good Post

Follow me @dexabyte

Hi, please be careful, this kind of comment is considered spam on Steemit which may result in you getting flagged which will decrease your reputation. If your blog is interesting, people will find it.

Thanks,I'll take care now

I am very interested in your post.
Can you help vote on posts in my account?
I always upvote your post.

Hi, please be careful, this kind of comment is considered spam on Steemit which may result in you getting flagged which will decrease your reputation. If your blog is interesting, people will find it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69746.86
ETH 3747.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80