You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The toughest kids in school...might not be who'd you expect. (featuring @hanshotfirst as author)

in #family8 years ago (edited)

Nice post! I think think that the mainstream education system, at least from my experience in the UK, is flawed simply because it is too rigid in its approach to teaching. Most people with learning disabilities don't require physical care to get the most from education, but rather need a more flexible mentality from staff. I was home schooled for nearly 3 years toward the end of my schooling years, and took my exams at a drop in center. I also nearly attended a Steiner Waldorf school which emphasizes freedom of choice in topic and times when taught and encourages independent learning. Being too standardized hurts pupils in many ways I feel. Anyhow, good luck :)

Sort:  

" need a more flexible approach" Amen!!!

AMEN indeed lol :D Generally the National Curriculum in the UK is created by people who are very tense and controlling so it naturally results in a overly rigid style of teaching, one that leaves many marginalized. Even though I missed out on a 'mainstream' education and the socialization that goes with it, in retrospect I can see that as a wholly good thing. I am better able to think for myself and be creative. Really the mainstream education is there to create masses of slaves who will accept being on minimum wage working jobs they hate. At least that is my perception.

I have to say though. Things have changed dramatically for the better since I was in school and catering for the needs of the individual was something I never was afforded.

yes I can imagine it has improved, but there is always room for improvement

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58613.96
ETH 3153.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43