RAISING MORAL CHILDREN IN AN IMMORAL SOCIETY

in #family6 years ago

Train up a child in the was he should go and when he's old, he'll not depart from it Proverb 22:6.
As much as this passage is true, it's so difficult training a child especially in an ungodly world.
One of the hardest job in raising a family is raising a Godly kid.
So many ungodly things are now the order of the day, everyone now sees it as a normal day to day activities.
I was in a bus going out one day, then an elderly woman boarded the bus along the way, but there was no more space for her to sit, there were some secondary school boys in the bus who were seated comfortably so I felt one of them will get up for the woman, but to my greatest surprise none of them did, infact they all turned blind eyes to the woman. I had to get up for her to seat, you need to see the happiness on her face when I offered her my seat. I tried to talk the boys about their attitude, then another lady in the bus responded by saying 'it's your choice you want to stand up, not theirs' he was saying the boys don't want to get up, that it's me that wanted to. I was so angry that I just had to control myself.

image.jpeg
https://www.123rf.com/photo_36057891_two-pieces-of-white-paper-with-the-word-immoral-turned-into-moral.html

HERE ARE SOME WAYS ONE CAN USE TO RAISE KIDS MORALLY

  • KINDNESS: we are who our children are outside our houses. It's whatever it's being portrayed to the children they tend to exhibit outside. If we try to show our children through our actions, Kindness, then one can be rest assured ones child will be kind. Kindness should not just an act, but by action and words.

  • CHOOSE WORDS CAREFULLY IN THE PRESENCE OF THE CHILDREN: Human tends to adapt to negative things/words easily than the positives. So many words are not supposed to be used in the presence of children, but some parents still use them freely to their children and/or to other people in the presence of their children. Abusive words should be totally stayed away from. And most importantly, parents should never quarrel or fight in the presence of their children. It's so wrong.
    Speaking badly about someone in the presence of the children will shapen the ways the children sees such a person. If the parents are always saying the bad things someone else does In the presence of their children, their children will definitely see such a person as a bad person, because their brains are so fragile, they can't tell if it's really true or not, they can't really judge, their judgment and assessment will be based on the talks their parents are talking about the person in their presence.

  • NEVER COMPARE THEM WITH ANYONE:
    Another mistake some parents make is comparing their children with other children, or other people. Everyone has different ways to achieving whatever they want to achieve in their various lives.
    What child A did and become successful doesn't mean child B will do it and have such success.
    Comparisons lowers a child self esteem.

  • BE AN EXAMPLE TO YOUR CHILDREN: as a father or mother, are we really setting an example for our children?
    Do we want our children to leave the types of lifes we leave?
    I stayed with my uncle for sometimes when I was growing up, then, my friend (neighbor) always tells me that my uncle smokes, but I always don't believe him, and we always argue about it.
    I never knew he smokes until he quit smoking. He always ensure I don't see him smoke, he doesn't send me to buy cigarettes for him, he even barred me from buying cigarettes or alcohol for people, just to ensure I don't think about it in any way.
    In the case of my experience in the bus, if my child was with me, I'll still stand up for the elderly woman even in my child's presence.

  • SHOW THEM LOVE: One tends to appreciate people when they are cared for or loved. Love can be soft or tough, depending on the situation, both love should be shown to children as long as it's helping them shapen their future. Things are meant to be used, and human are meant to be loved, but the reverse is the case in today's society. When we should our children love, they tend to value and respect other people.

  • ENSURE THEY DO THE HOUSE CHORES ON A DAILY BASIS
    House Chores, such as washing, cleaning and sweeping should be given to the children, and the parents should take up the task of making them do them at the right time, and also trusting them to do them whenever they are alone I.e without supervision. This helps children in decision making and being independent. It helps their brains mature.

  • ENSURE THEY ARE FOCUSED IN WHATEVER THEY DO OR ARE PLANNING ON DOING:
    A child always have dreams and aspirations and dreams, it's their parents that will ensure they are in the right ways to achieving their dreams, no matter how big it is. Keeping them focused are part of ways of keeping them in check.
    Being focused doesn't only help the kids, it helps the adults too. For whatever one sets his sights on to achieve, with focus and dedication one will achieve them.

These and more goes a long way in helping to shapen a child's life till he grows up to be whatever he wasn't to be.

Happy new week, and thanks for your time.
Happy marriage life to my best friend once again

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61166.56
ETH 2987.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71